cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP

i've not seen any thread on the kitz forum yet.......
Luzern
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 4,361
Thanks: 697
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP

You don't have to look long for the reason!Grin

@Mars2050 wrote:

You have done nothing to help me but troll my threads and still don't understand what I am talking about. You think you do but you don't.

 

None of the replied on here so far, have answered what my OP says and you have the nerve to say, I am not listening. Try practicing what you preach!

Yes I am going to try on kits forum, as I have had enough of you trolling me and being some plus net fanboy.

 

 


 

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,422
Thanks: 2,458
Fixes: 317
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP

Mars2050 wrote:

Yes I am going to try on kits forum

 @Mars2050 you will be needing this then http://forum.kitz.co.uk/

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 69.0.3 (64-bit)

Life is tough enough without adding Linux into the mix.
RobPN
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,338
Thanks: 830
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP


 @Mars2050 you will be needing this then http://forum.kitz.co.uk/


Touché  Smiley

Community Veteran
Posts: 14,690
Thanks: 849
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP


@Mars2050 wrote:

You have done nothing to help me but troll my threads and still don't understand what I am talking about. You think you do but you don't.

 

None of the replied on here so far, have answered what my OP says and you have the nerve to say, I am not listening. Try practicing what you preach!

Yes I am going to try on kits forum, as I have had enough of you trolling me and being some plus net fanboy. 


I've done nothing to help you? - I didn't suggest mobile broadband, public wifi or vpn then did I. That would have been *something*. True I've not solved your IP problem.. but I did suggest you make your entire town stop using their phones. If you don't want to do that its your problem. I can't change plusnets network - so sorry about that.

I have not trolled you. I've just said it like it is. You don't want to hear anything you don't agree with.

I'm not a fan of plusnet. I've had many issues with them in the past - including many spats with Bob. I've also been banned from the forum a couple of times for my anti-PN attitude too. I have no reason to jump to their defence, I have merely been telling you the situation as it is.

One day in the future you'll look back at this and it will all click into place.

 

Also you claim I don't understand what your issue is. I do. You seem to think that plusnet have published your IP data somewhere deliberately. This would not only be a data protection act breach but also require some new protocol and RFC standard for it to be universally available to all Geolocation websites.

Please inform me of the RFC number and protocol name - I'd like to look them up. I do look at them quite often as i am into that kind of thing - i'm currently workong on my own dns nameserver and also a dhcp server sp i would genuinely be interested to know how plusnet are publishing this data and how i can interface with it - thanks

I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Mars2050
Rising Star
Posts: 100
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎03-11-2016

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP

I will do it when I am good and ready. It will be what I have asked in here.

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP

of course you will
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,967
Thanks: 2,246
Fixes: 43
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP


@Mars2050 wrote:

I don't take everything I'm told by an ISP when they have commercial interest, in selling a service.


Well you're on a hiding to nothing then, regardless of which ISP you eventually choose, if you don't believe anything they say.

Here's something you probably don't know; there are services on the Internet called search engines, you type what you want to find in them and they will search out results for you. If you're kind to it and ask politely maybe you'll get a better response from these than you will here.

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP


@Mars2050 wrote:

Both your replies are unhelpful to my original post. I don't take everything I'm told by an ISP when they have commercial interest, in selling a service. PN staff are not going to recommend an ISP or tell me I won't have this issue, for reasons said above.

If you think this is a long fruitless journey, then you are in the wrong thread.

 

Now any recommendations before I try KITS forum?


how did it go on the kitz forum then @Mars2050 ?Huh

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP

Looks like he's moved to BT.

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,967
Thanks: 2,246
Fixes: 43
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP

Mmm, can't seem to find a spoon emoji for @chenks76

Maybe @Mars2050 has moved on to pastures new.

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP

http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,19551.msg347325.html#msg347325

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,690
Thanks: 849
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP


@chenks76 wrote:

@Mars2050 wrote:

Both your replies are unhelpful to my original post. I don't take everything I'm told by an ISP when they have commercial interest, in selling a service. PN staff are not going to recommend an ISP or tell me I won't have this issue, for reasons said above.

If you think this is a long fruitless journey, then you are in the wrong thread.

 

Now any recommendations before I try KITS forum?


how did it go on the kitz forum then @Mars2050 ?Huh


 

He still hasn't informed me of the relevant RFCs i need to look at either. Shame... or maybe not..

I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Highlighted
VileReynard
Champion
Posts: 11,840
Thanks: 454
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP

Why not just use an IP address of 127.0.0.1?

This is not on any geographical list. Cheesy

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Mars2050
Rising Star
Posts: 100
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎03-11-2016

Re: Recommend a fibre ISP with dynamic IP

how did it go on the kitz forum then @Mars2050 ?Huhv

 

A thousand times better than this troll ridden and unhelpful forum.

Oh and can now show I am in London all of the time if I need to. Wink

 

Good riddance to PN and the PN shills who operate on this forum.

So glad I moved away from incompetent PN. Cool