14 REPLIES
Steve
Pro

Re: Recipes

Ive never ate pigeon, Is it any good?
SRD
Grafter

We like it, it's a stronger flavour than pheasant but not so strong as goose.
Community Veteran

Yummy!
What did you have for the main course?
Steve
Pro

Certainly sounds tasty, Suppose the old truth that springs to mind that we all tell our kids"how do you know you dont like it if you have never tried it?"
Im no expert on it though so is there any specific pigeon thats better than other's? I heard wood pigeon is meant to be good?
SRD
Grafter

Quote from: Santiago
Yummy!
What did you have for the main course?
Grin We're on diets, aren't we always?  I originally had it as a starter but the recipe fits as a lunch.
SRD
Grafter

Quote from: Steve
Certainly sounds tasty, Suppose the old truth that springs to mind that we all tell our kids"how do you know you dont like it if you have never tried it?"
Im no expert on it though so is there any specific pigeon thats better than other's? I heard wood pigeon is meant to be good?
Woody is best because he's largest, around here there are plenty of wood pigeons.  I suspect that using a town pigeon (which I think may be illegal) would result in a less tasty dish, they don't have the varied diet that rural pigeons get.  It has been known for the pigeon to be accompanied by the shredded greens found in its crop.
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Quote from: SRD
This is what we had for lunch today.

Sorry but you would not get me eating flying rats aka pigeon.
johpal
Grafter

There was an old joke, when I used to live in Amsterdam:
"Keep your city clean - eat a pigeon"  Cool
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star

That should be "Keep your city clean - eat a pigeon shoot a pigeon"  Wink
Teds31
Grafter

We are over run by wood pigeons all I need is a gun and no more butchers bills . Ted Grin
SRD
Grafter