cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Kbps or KBps?

VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,202
Thanks: 307
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Kbps or KBps?

Actually, it's totally meaningless how many bits the channel is rated at - or should that be 8M-baud  Cheesy
All I care about is the number of data bytes I get - a bit is a useless entity.

31 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,501
Thanks: 1,953
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Kbps or KBps?

The Baud rate would add even more confusion IMHO.  The days when Baud and bit were synonymous have gone,
M
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Kbps or KBps?

I think it would add a bit more confusion.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,111
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Kbps or KBps?

Personally, I'm waiting for an opportunity to use the word 'yobibit' - there's just something satisfyingly zany about it.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Kbps or KBps?

I suspect you are going to have a long wait - but if you really want to wait just think what you could do with yobibyte
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,501
Thanks: 1,953
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Kbps or KBps?

Let me out!  Let me out!    We'll soon be heading into Shannon and Information Entropy and all that mathematical stuff I've almost forgotten Crazy
M
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

Re: Kbps or KBps?

Last time I used bauds was when working with telex at 50 Baud ! - and I could do complex trigonometry, J operators and all that  !
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: Kbps or KBps?

Quote from: Crucibleofevil
Actually, it's totally meaningless how many bits the channel is rated at - or should that be 8M-baud  Cheesy
All I care about is the number of data bytes I get - a bit is a useless entity.

8Mbps is 1MBps but 8M Baud will be 800KBps (0.8MBps) so you will get less.  Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Kbps or KBps?

Ye Gods - what have I started? Shocked
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,288
Thanks: 2,166
Fixes: 349
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Kbps or KBps?

Well what else did you expect round here? Roll eyes

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Kbps or KBps?

if you lot arnt care full ASBO will be back with company and show you what a bite is
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,202
Thanks: 307
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Kbps or KBps?

Quote from: itsme
Quote from: Crucibleofevil
Actually, it's totally meaningless how many bits the channel is rated at - or should that be 8M-baud  Cheesy
All I care about is the number of data bytes I get - a bit is a useless entity.

8Mbps is 1MBps but 8M Baud will be 800KBps (0.8MBps) so you will get less.  Wink

Does the use of the B indicate Byte or Baud? Grin Grin Grin

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,353
Thanks: 1,898
Fixes: 176
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Kbps or KBps?

It might be a bit of a squeeze pushing parallel data down a serial telephone wire Roll eyes

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)

scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2007

Re: Kbps or KBps?

Quote
if you lot arnt care full ASBO will be back with company and show you what a bite is

bite hell no. am that confused with this thread now am chasing my own tail round now  Grin
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Kbps or KBps?

Dont Worry Asbo, no one has mention the other query is K=1000 or is K=1024  Roll eyes Roll eyes runs away again