cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question for PlusNet

Bob_Milton
Grafter
Posts: 688
Registered: 31-07-2007

Question for PlusNet

From SatCure,
Quote
The SatCure discussion forum has been hosted by "ezboard" for a few years but I never really liked the layout or the lack of control. The owners have been promising to upgrade us to "Yuku" for ages but it never happened. So I finally gave up and migrated all existing posts to a new forum at http://www.notonyourtelly.co.uk/forum/

Quote
The new forum automatically corrects common typos so, if you are accustomed to misspelling words such as "aerial", "satellite", "across" and "apologise", you need worry no longer. All such typos will be corrected and your posts will appear to have been typed by a genius!

The above are quotes from SatCure, they are perhaps self-explanatory.
The question for PlusNet  --- Is it possible that a similar facility could at sometime in the future be incorporated into the PlusNet forums?
53 REPLIES
N/A

Re: Question for PlusNet

We already use the word censor to correct a couple of typo's here. For example [off the top of my head without checking], if you misspell account by missing out the letter 'o' it will appear corrected in your post.
However, inputting lots of these such words is a relatively time-intensive process for us to carry out, and there are questions about the processing overhead incurred if we increased the list substantially.
A Plug-in for the forum which would do such a thing could be a real advantage, as would the acronym definition plug-in MikeWhitehead wrote for the blog section of the site if it could be made to work here.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Question for PlusNet

Use Firefox which has a built in spell checker.
Chilly
cp:blue edited as per shutters request. mod:end
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,374
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Question for PlusNet

@James_H
Acronym definition?
What do you want the is different to the standard SMF feature? (hover the mouse over SMF)
The code to produce that is:
SMF

You can also do abbreviations [abbr=exemlpi gratia]eg[/abbr]: [abbr=exemlpi gratia]eg[/abbr] which is produced by
[abbr=exemlpi gratia]eg[/abbr]

Those examples are straight out of the help on these forums.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,100
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Question for PlusNet

very handy jelv. Hopefully more people will use that feature. Can it be added to the Tag buttons for those of us with short memories?
Bob_Milton
Grafter
Posts: 688
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Question for PlusNet

I use ieSpell, it appears in the toolbar
http://www.iespell.com/
Bob
Community Veteran
Posts: 16,834
Thanks: 1,123
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Question for PlusNet

Hello Chilly,
Are you using firefox ?

If you are....... What`s this?  
Use Firefox which has a build in spell checker.
Chilly

Should be   b u i l t   (not spaced of course) Wink
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Question for PlusNet

b u i l d  and b u i l t  are both correctly spelt words, it is the syntax and grammer that you want checked, but in the sentance you used, probably both words are correct.
Community Veteran
Posts: 16,834
Thanks: 1,123
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Question for PlusNet

both correctly spelt    Roll eyes  but wrong use of syntax  build is definitely wrong for that sentence.  Wink
N/A

Re: Question for PlusNet

Quote from: jelv
@James_H
Acronym definition?
What do you want the is different to the standard SMF feature? (hover the mouse over SMF)
The code to produce that is:
SMF

You can also do abbreviations [abbr=exemlpi gratia]eg[/abbr]: [abbr=exemlpi gratia]eg[/abbr] which is produced by
[abbr=exemlpi gratia]eg[/abbr]

Those examples are straight out of the help on these forums.

Only works if people enter the code though - and therefore its generally useless.
Those typing the acronym do so because its less effort than typing the full version.
Adding the acronym tags means its more typing than typing the full version out, so I don't suspect we would see it used much more frequently now that folks know its there.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,760
Thanks: 1,120
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Question for PlusNet

'Build in' is probably technically correct because my copy didn't have it built in, I had to download an Add-on to make it available. Therefore I had to build it in. Smiley
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Question for PlusNet

Quote from: shutter
Hello Chilly,
Are you using firefox ?

If you are....... What`s this? 
Use Firefox which has a build in spell checker.
Chilly

Should be  b u i l t  (not spaced of course) Wink

Just need a grammar checker too.  Embarrassed
Community Veteran
Posts: 16,834
Thanks: 1,123
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Question for PlusNet

Shall I ask my Gram mar if she is busy  Huh
Bob_Milton
Grafter
Posts: 688
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Question for PlusNet

I guess some folk don't think of checking their spelling before publication.
I wonder if they check if their flies are done up when dressing.
Maybe they are happy to expose their short comings.
Community Veteran
Posts: 16,834
Thanks: 1,123
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Question for PlusNet

I shall refrain from comment on the last sentence  Shocked Shocked Shocked