cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Premises Relocation and BT Numbers

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,784
Thanks: 1,132
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Premises Relocation and BT Numbers

OK I've got fed up with BT's site so here's one for Telecom/Ex-Telecom engineers.
We are currently in 0114 and are moving to 01709.
As a business our telephone numbers are crucial and expensive to change.
Can we take our existing ones with us.
We currently use an old analogue internal system but will be upgrading to a fully digital one when we move.
All or any help would be much appreciated.
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
7 REPLIES
mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: 09-10-2007

Re: Premises Relocation and BT Numbers

No is the answer. Your number can be kept only if you are in the same exchange area.
BT dont allow relocations over different exchanges, would be a nightmare to manage.
There is a service you could look at, its called an 'Exchange Forward'. Would allow you to keep your old numbers, and forward them to the new ones.
Almost like a virtual number of sorts. As for the analogue and digital, it makes no difference, the numbering is still the same.
If you want anymore info on this, let me know.
Scott
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,784
Thanks: 1,132
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Premises Relocation and BT Numbers

Thank you very much Scott Smiley
Very much as I anticipated.
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
N/A

Re: Premises Relocation and BT Numbers

Quote from: mcgurka
There is a service you could look at, its called an 'Exchange Forward'. Would allow you to keep your old numbers, and forward them to the new ones.

Works kinda like your postcode - you can't take it with you when you move, but you can get the Post Office to forward mail to your new address directly from the sorting offices.
Thats all the 0114 and 01709 parts are, geographic 'telephone addresses' if you like.
mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: 09-10-2007

Re: Premises Relocation and BT Numbers

Couldnt have said it better myself!
AFAIK its not too bad cost wise either!
(my year as a telecoms engineer, finally pays off!)
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,784
Thanks: 1,132
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Premises Relocation and BT Numbers

I suppose I was thinking in terms of....Now it's all digital they can do anything they like.
A bit like taking your mobile number with you when you move provider or Voip stuff (that I'm not into yet).
It'll cost us a few grand in reprinting costs...still whatever Sad
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
Bob_Milton
Grafter
Posts: 688
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Premises Relocation and BT Numbers

Quote from: mcgurka
Couldnt have said it better myself!
AFAIK its not too bad cost wise either!
(my year as a telecoms engineer, finally pays off!)

Strat,
I wish that my 41 years with Post Office Telephones/BT would pay off.
I don't know the answer to your question. Sorry old fruit. Ask me another.
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Premises Relocation and BT Numbers

We moved to a hosted VoIP provider and our PBX is in Telehouse.  We ported all our BT exchange numbers to the provider... works a treat - and if we move, we can literally move anywhere in the world and still keep our 30 or so 01884s, 0845s and 0800s.