cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

Anonymous
Not applicable

Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

I’ve just read this on the BBC site and when you think about it it’s a really smart way to do things. If your intent is to snoop then what has more user trust than an Anti-Virus App!

 

 

38 REPLIES 38
AlaricAdair
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,658
Thanks: 652
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎21-03-2011

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

When I was working for an international bank, I had to visit one of our Russian offices regularly. Next door to that branch was a large Russian mansion with high walls around. It used have dark windowed SUV's, Porsche and Ferrari's visiting with visibly armed guards. Allegedly it was a Russian Mafia place.  A little further down the street were the Kaspersky offices. 

I imply nothing, but it does illustrate the local Russian colour in that business district.

Now Zen, but a +Net residue.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

If it really is more than just an AV product, then you wouldn’t question it phoning home as it might me looking for updates, but equally it could be sending all of your information, browsing, shopping and banking history to HQ. Shocked

As a malicious product it could easily be instructed to take part in DDoS and other forms of attack all done my remote control and with the installer’s (user’s) consent.

billnotben
Community Veteran
Posts: 7,253
Thanks: 1,777
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎23-09-2010

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

For me, and I guess the majority of British computer users, the snooper to worry about would be the British government.

Russia just doesn't come into it.

Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,035
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

So a US Government Employee took home classified software and loaded it on his home computer and Kaspersky Internet Security found a nasty

This is from KIS on my computer

2017-12-02_100948.jpg2017-12-02_101015.jpg

So you can see why it picked it up and that I have it disabled

shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 20,829
Thanks: 3,186
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

I`ve never used Kaspersky..... for some undefined reason..... but have used AVG ( which I think, is also a Russian Anti Virus ? ? ? )

 

So... all you AV experts,..... which - non-russian based/backed Anti Virus should we be using, to keep away from the Russian snoops.... ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?

 

 

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

You may well be right there @billnotben as regards the Russian's level of interest in the average UK citizen. But not everyone is an average citizen, and some are more ‘interesting’ than others. A lot of people in the UK work for the Government in some form be it Police, NHS, TAX, Local etc.

Even then, if they weren’t interested in your data it doesn’t mean that your PC can’t be used for ‘other’ purposes.

If you give some thought to what is said @Oldjim KIS found a ‘nasty’ from a competitor!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

That's easy @shutter, Wetware Common Sense v1.0.1.

shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 20,829
Thanks: 3,186
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

@Anonymous please provide a download link...

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

Ah! This needs to be compiled from source @shutter, but you could always try this:

file:///cerebrum/common-sense-.v1.0.1.exe

Just in case there's a pre-built binary but this link may not work for anyone. Grin

 

shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 20,829
Thanks: 3,186
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

OK.... thank.... will see how it goes.... Wink

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,540
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

I don't see the need for any other AV except Windows defender , and common sence
I have never had any nasties on either of my PC,s
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
gleneagles
Community Veteran
Posts: 10,714
Thanks: 2,224
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

The safest bet might be to use no anti virus or fire wall in the first place.

Been on the internet for years, never had a problem...

 

But......

 

I am using Linux....perhaps that explains it.

 

SmileySmiley

We are born into history and history is born into us.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,409
Thanks: 3,357
Fixes: 506
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Oooh! Are you using Kaspersky Labs Anti-Virus?

Comrade vostopski "Comrade Poborski, we are looking to infiltrate the western cyber systems. Which method do you recommend."

Comrade Poborski "I would recommend using Kaspersky Labs products as they are just down the road and I have contacts"

Comrade vostopski "No,no Comrade, they are too obvious. We must enlist the assistance of a western software producer. I will bring up the subject with President Trump the next time he calls. Maybe he will have some suggestions".

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 88.0.1 (64-bit)