Community Veteran
Fixes: 54

One for the weather experts - Strat?

Just seen this from my local weather station
I don't remember seeing this step change in one hour before
19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Fixes: 8

Re: One for the weather experts - Strat?

Not surprising if you also look at the wind direction and strength. You've gone from a light breeze off the land where there were clear skies overnight and frost to a good wind off the sea from a warm southerly direction.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran

That's interesting.
Already the temperature is dropping and a frost is almost guaranteed for the morning Sad
Fixes: 47

I'm no expert but have to agree with jelv.
I recorded a 3.1 degree rise in the same period so I guess your area is more prone to 'extremes'.
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
Community Veteran
Fixes: 54

Actually it isn't subject to extremes and the surface pressure charts didn't indicate a wind change was likely
It wasn't the fact that it rose quickly which surprised me - it was the magnitude of the change in such a short time
Community Veteran
Fixes: 1

http://www.wunderground.com/history/station/03862/2014/11/06/DailyHistory.html ;   courtesy of WU.  Rapid temp rise earlier today, scroll down to the bottom for graphs.
Minimum tonight about 10C
Community Veteran

@nozzer, thanks for the link. just checked and you're right. Seems my fears of frost in the morning are way off the mark. Smiley
Community Veteran
Fixes: 13