cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oil change help

David_W
Rising Star

Oil change help

I changed the oil on my ER-6F today for the first time (couldn't undo bolt before), so I changed the oil and the filter at the same time.  Now, the oil measuring window shows the oil to be between the two lines, as it should be.  When I start the engine though, the oil goes up, indeed, it goes to the high line, maybe just above it.  When I stop the engine, the oil goes up again and covers the entire window (the bike is on a centre stand with the rear wheel raised) before falling back down to between the two lines.

I'm a novice at this kind of thing, I read the haynes manual and follow what it says, but it doesn't say anything about that, it says fill the engine with oil, start for 3m, turn off, top up the oil, repeat.  Is it normal for the oil to go above the high line when the engine is switched on?  I don't really want to overfill my oil but if I remove oil now, the oil will be below the low line which is also something I don't want.  Anyone with any mechanical experience that can fill me in?

14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Fixes: 26

Re: Oil change help

Just concentrate on this bit "fill the engine with oil, start for 3m, turn off, top up the oil, repeat." ignore the other readings, as long as its right after you turn it off you will be fine. Initially it will go down as it fills up the filter, but should settle after starting it a couple of times.

Just did my blade last week, thought I had over filled it at forst, but it was fine after I started it and the filter was filled.

Community Veteran
Fixes: 3

Like 99% of vehicles, the level should ideally be checked with the engine stopped and the bike stood level. Oil moves too much with the engine running to check the level reliably in that state. After stopping the engine, allow several minutes for the oil to drain down into the crankcase/sump.
Call me 'w23'