cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Odd behaviour?

johpal
Grafter

Odd behaviour?

Last week, at my workplace, a colleague had her purse stolen from an  unattended office. The thief, posing as a bank official,  then rang the office, informing her of an "unauthorised transaction on her account" and requested her PIN number for verification. You can guess the rest and my colleague is now nursing a £600 headache, after a cash withdrawal from her account: lesson learnt!
Now the odd part. This afternoon, a police officer visited, to investigate the incident. Did  I mention, I work in a hospital? As well as reviewing security tapes, the officer asked several members of staff (including me) a few questions. Without fail, the man refused to shake hands with anybody, claiming he was afraid of contracting swine 'flu.
Talk about being made to feel a leper! Whatever next? Should I be greeting everybody whilst wearing a full decontamination outfit? How would you feel, being greeted in such a way?  Crazy
12 REPLIES
jmd
Grafter

Re: Odd behaviour?

What a stupid policeman!  No, you are are the leper nor should you have to worry - perhaps you should have asked him to get sprayed with antiseptic before he talked to you in case he gave it you!!
Fixes: 121

Not sure why that wasn't requested anyway.
On each of our recent visits when my father was in hospital it was always pointed out that we should disinfect our hands as we entered the ward and then again when we left.
Not sure of the benefit as everyone was soon touching & holding their bags, phones, etc. just as they were before disinfecting their hands so any germs could easily have been transferred back again.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Lurker
Grafter

You can't get Swine Flu by touch.
Only by transferring the virus from your hands into your nose/mouth could this happen.