cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Now what am I going to do all day? ?

shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 20,840
Thanks: 3,191
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Now what am I going to do all day? ?

Hi Guys...

Now what do I do ? ? ?   I`m going to be bored stiff for the next few weeks, racking my brain for something to do.

 

As  you know. I have been playing around with Linux Mint since version 8, and FINALLY, I am booting up to Mint19.1 with Windows7Pro working in a VIrtual Box. as my MAIN OPERATING SYSTEM.. ( this is in part due to Windows7 not being supported by Microsoft after January 14th NEXT YEAR )

Previously, I have been working on Linux only for about 10 minutes or so, then got bored, and went back to Win 7 on Dual Boot.

The story goes, that I have always wanted to use Linux, but my documents ( about 10years worth) and a couple of other of my favourite Windows progs will not work on Linux, when using WINE... so I had to do it the hard way... Someone, I can`t remember who, suggested using Windows in Virtual Box... . I had heard of this a few years ago, but did not understand it, nor did I try it... I am glad I took the plunge.  It took a while, but eventually, after bashing away at it,... ( Nothing is easy in Linux ! ! ) I managed to get it working.

I then had a BIG problem.... I had a 500GB hard disc, that I was  using... dual boot win 7 and mint , and now with another Win 7 copy and duplicated files and folders.  (60GB of music vids and about 25GB of docs  & photos).. and the system kept reporting that there was not much room left on the hard drive.

So.. what I needed to do, was to clear the 500GB of what was on it... and then just install Linux Mint and Virtual Box.. 

I wiped a spare 250GB hard drive, and put that into my 10inch Hannspree laptop...

Loaded up a new copy of Mint 19.1 and proceeded to work through getting it updated, and then installing WINE 4.0  ( that took as long as installing Mint 19.1 !!!) 

.. then I had to install all my win7 progs... find all my documents, pictures ( 13 years of them ) . and other stuff,  copy it from the 500GB to the 250GB Hannspree, .

 

and then I started on the Virtual Box install... Not an easy task... for someone who does not fully understand the ways of Linux

.. But eventually, I did manage to get it working. 

Another BIG problem was trying to get the USB sockets recognised on the Virtual Box... but a couple of days playing about, and I eventually got them working too... Honestly, you would think that, in this day and age, writers of Software like VB and Linux , would know about the difficulties  "newbies" have in using their work, that they would write a bit  more code and make these things work OOB ! ! .  Ah well....

 

 

then the next BIG time wasting problem, was trying to get my Canon MG6850 printer working with both Linux Mint 19.1 AND the Virtual Box Win 7. 

When I first got a computer, and a printer.  it was just a matter of plugging it in, and the system knew where it was connected, and even had a driver for it.. (referred to as "Plug and Play")   .. but not any more... oh no.... lots of downloading, deleting, chasing through ideas, going back to square one, and doing it differently, and then going back and trying something else... all because " the system cannot fine your printer"... I kept shouting , It`s on the end of three feet of wire at the end of the desk.."  but it did not do any good  ! ! ! ..

Long story short..! ! .. I eventually loaded up as much printer stuff as I thought "might" make it work, from the "Software manager"

And did get it working "of sorts".. it was just a matter of time and patience, to uninstall SOME of the stuff, and it then worked properly on Mint 19.`1  ! ! ..  It was a similar problem with Win 7 on the Virtual Box, .. but easier, in a way, cos it was Windows !.. it was more a matter of getting the printer recognised via the VB and the USB set up.. but again.. it eventually came together.

 

Not wishing to "go through all that again".. ( almost 3  weeks hard graft 8 hours a day on it ! ! ).. I thought about cloning it from the 250GB hard drive in the Hannspree 10inch machine..........

 

OKAY>.. after all that... the situation is...

 

. 250GB HDD in the 10 inch Hannspree machine. now working Linux Mint 19.1 with Win 7 Pro in the Virtual Box..

. 500GB HDD in my "desktop" Dell Laptop. with Dual Boot Linux and Win 7 and Virtual Box

 

Need to dump the Dual Boot, and use the 500GB as the main Hdd in the DELL Laptop on the desktop.

Gotta clone it from the 250GB to the 500GB

Remove the 500GB from the DELL machine.. insert the 250GB into the DELL (booted up to check that it works - and it did ! ! ) 

Put the 500GB into a USB CADDY and plug into the USB on the DELL.

 

I downloaded CloneZilla  and UUI ... made a bootable copy of CloneZilla,... closed down all machines.   inserted the UUI ClloneZilla usb stick.

Booted up. and chose to boot from the USB stick... went through the CloneZilla procedure, and about 1.5 hours later.. it was COMPLETED.


I now have  the 250GB in my 10inch Hannspree, as a good quality back up. and store, cloned to the 500GB

which is now inserted into the DELL desktop Laptop machine for every day use.

The cloning procedure has copied about 230GB from the Hannspree to the DELL 500GB hdd... and so I went to "Discs" on the Linux Menu, and just did a simple "resize" operation on that drive to make all the remaining space of the 500GB available for use !

There is a slight problem with booting up.. on this DELL machine...

It shows the message,... "No bootable device"... press F1 to try a reboot etc etc...

so I have to press F12 just after switching on, to select the internal HDD and then it boots up normally.

 

On Windows.. this can be fixed with a command line  FIX /MBR i think...

but I don`t know what the Linux Equivalent of that is,.. and that my friends is where I am asking for your helpl

 

 

Thank you to all who have been helpful to me with getting Linux working  It really is appreciated.

Especially to @Anonymous  @gleneagles  & @PeeGee 

24 REPLIES 24
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

From what you describe @shutter it seems to me that you simply need to change the boot order in your BIOS to use the 500GB disk to make it the default boot device.

Go into your BIOS and see what options you have under Boot and if nothing is obvious post a few screen captures of what’s there please.

shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 20,840
Thanks: 3,191
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

@Anonymous   Thanks for that tip !   Wink...It was set to UEFI boot ... so I changed it to Legacy... and redefined the boot order, so that it would see the USB first... then the CDrom.... then the internal HDD.. so all is well in the world, once again. Smiley

 

7up
Community Veteran
Posts: 15,384
Thanks: 1,192
Fixes: 14
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

I'm not trying to bash linux here (see what i did there? - bash lol) but you really would have saved more time keeping the windows install on your dual boot and installing your linux distro into a virtual machine instead. Windows and hardware detection work better on raw hardware, not a emulated one. Anyway the main thing is you've got it working.

Now the beauty of using VMs is that you can back them up, copy them over to other machines, suspend them indefinitely, install specialist software into etc.

I have several winXP VMs that i use for various different things - it makes life so much easier having a dedicated virtual computer for specialised software as you'll pretty much never need to reformat and reinstall windows (unlike the main computer operating system - which gets clogged up with junk registry entries, software bloat etc) and you can back it up at any point. Also if you've got a machine that's beefy enough you can run several at the same time. I have a machine with 16GB of ram (rarely use it due to noise) but i've had 5 VMs running on it at once in the past (all accessed via remote desktop over the network lol). 

Discovering virtual computing was the best thing that happened to me for many years as prior to that, like you, I'd been using a dual boot setup which worked (and worked well) but it was a pain having to hide partitions, reboot to access files, reboot again etc. Virtual computing takes all of that away. It also gives you a sandbox to test unknown software / download from unknown sources and should that VM get infected, suspend it, delete it and restore an older back up of it. Job done.

So many advantages to it shutter, i'm glad you've finally given it a go - you won't regret it. Just make a back up of your current working virtual box / machine so that if windows does get sluggish / go wrong, you can just delete it and restore the fresh backup that's already got your hardware installed / working.

I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 20,840
Thanks: 3,191
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

@7up  Thanks for your input, and experiences... The main reason I wanted to use Linux Mint 19.1 is because of the discontinuance of the updates and support of Windows 7 from January 14th next year. and I wanted to make sure that I had a working system before that date... Yeah, it took me a long time and effort, but I do feel that it has been worth it... I have learnt a lot along the way..! .

 

As for "backup"...if you read the story and progression of the events... you will see that the "original" setting up of Linux Mint and the VM was done on a 250GB hard drive... in another laptop... this was then cloned, ( eventually) to the 500GB hdd on the main laptop... leaving the "original" as a "good copy" backup, in-situ on the 10 inch, from whence it originated.  It will be easy to copy across any "new" files /folders ... as and when .... using a USB stick..

 

Interestingly... If I had tried this using Windows, it would have stopped at the first swapping over of the hard drives.. whereas using Linux as the main O.S. the hard drives swapped between machines with no bother, and both booted up perfectly.

Have a nice day ! Wink

ffox
Pro
Posts: 577
Thanks: 162
Registered: ‎08-06-2011

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

A word of warning - be very careful using Linux from the command line because you can cause immense damage with a typo.

(One of our salesmen wiped the main program and associated data from our sole demo system at the Telecoms Convention in the early 80s because he thought he knew what he was doing.)

shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 20,840
Thanks: 3,191
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

@ffox   Thanks for the doom & gloom... .Lips_are_sealed

 

If I had read that years ago, I would not have had all the fun and experience I have been having since I started with Mint 8

And I would not have had the satisfaction of knowing that, what I wanted to achieve, IS POSSIBLE, even if you do make a few typos along the way. By starting with a clean spare hdd, there is nothing to fear using Linux... just the problem of trying to understand what you did wrong, and then trying to understand what you should do to put it right.

a bit like going to IKEA getting a wardrobe, and finding that the instructions are missing,... you just have to grit yourself and get on with it as best you can, making mistakes along the way, is a form of self education.. and although, at times, (many times) it is very frustrating, eventually it does come together.

I feel immensely satisfied, that now, I can run most of my windows type programs on LINUX MINT 19.1 and the others by clicking  the Windows VB icon, or have it running in the background so it is instantly available, like any other program.

 

Over the years, many people of this forum, have offered their help, and without them, I would not have been able to do what I have finally done... so... to all those whose names I have forgotten... !  THANK YOU..

 

 

idonno
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 1,388
Thanks: 461
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎22-10-2015

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

@shutter  I blame you for me losing at least 3 hours last night.Grin

 

You and your Mints! I totally forgot I had Mint and Virtual Box on the desktop and I ended up updating it, downloading some games and ended up wasting a good couple of hours or so, playing one! Still it does work ok, Hope yours is now!

Ever helpful. Grin Sure, I’d love to help you out. Now which way did you come in?
shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 20,840
Thanks: 3,191
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

@idonno  I always knew I was a trend-setter, even at my age  ! !! ..

Yeah I think I got it all working now... just got to do some fine tuning, on some apps for Linux, and also some for the Windows, and it should be perfect.

Much better to have windows on an icon, than have to shut down, boot up... do the work,.. shut down and boot up again. can leave the windows virutal box running, and it is instantly available as if it were "just another page" on the Linux desktop.

BRILL  !..

All my years of playing around with Mint are finally paying off..

P.S.  I`m also addicted to Extra Strong Mints, since I stopped smoking 20 years ago ! ! !..

TTman
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,074
Thanks: 755
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-01-2019

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

@shutter By the time you sort out the bits you have to do and youre then looking for something to do there probably be a vacancy for a Prime Minister are up for doing that job...If you can sort your systems out it should be a doddle!EvilWink

shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 20,840
Thanks: 3,191
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

@TTman  I vaguely remember something from my early secondary school years history lesson, I think we were doing something about how parliament started, and the name "Prime Minister"  was given... Apparently, around that time, the "true meaning" of Prime Minister was    "First Fool"...  Shocked

So... No thanks... I`ll stay at home and be retired.... that is not re-tired...as in "tired again"... ! ! ..(nor is it a colloquism(?) for the american version of getting a new TYRE put on a wheel... !  Cheesy

TTman
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,074
Thanks: 755
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-01-2019

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

@shutter Disappointed. After following your posts over the years I thought you would be better than whats availableSadThumbs_Up

gleneagles
Community Veteran
Posts: 10,714
Thanks: 2,224
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

Well I know what i am doing tomorrow......taking full advantage of this excellent weather.....

Also know what I will be doing between other jobs for the rest of the week....

I have a old desktop that I use to test stuff out on and the monitor went blank half way through some work I was doing...

Checked external wires and cables....nothing loose.

Turned volume up to maximum NO Post bleep ? Slight crackle from speakers with are seperate from the monitor.

Do all computers bleep on start up ?

Light on computer is on.

It's a old LG led monitor and does not have any sort of led to indicate it's on.

So failed monitor ?

Love to get stuck in but dare not do so otherwise I will be tempted to try and sort it rather that continue with my plans for tomorrow.

Will post in the appropriate section if I get stuck or need advice later this week.

Smiley

We are born into history and history is born into us.
shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 20,840
Thanks: 3,191
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

@gleneagles   The main question you should be asking yourself, is..... If I try to tackle this... will it be any worse than it is now ?

The answer is "probably not"...as it don`t work now.... but... your "interfering" with all things, will allow you to gain experience. and, could, possibly, make it work... if not... san fair anne... down the tip it goes,... but you will have enjoyed messing about with it meantime ! ! ..Smiley

gleneagles
Community Veteran
Posts: 10,714
Thanks: 2,224
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Now what am I going to do all day? ?

@shutter 

True enough.

It's been very handy having a second old desktop to experiment with software including Linux programs so will miss it if the problem is something I cannot find.

Some excellent info about testing each part on the internet so if it's something not too expensive might be worth a punt trying to get it on ebay, just out of interest I was looking at small Dell monitors on ebay ( refurbished) around £ 23 so if it does prove to be that I would be tempted to buy.

 

We are born into history and history is born into us.