Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

More Central Heating Woes

Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable

More Central Heating Woes

Back in 2015 I had some issue with my heating system and I was going to replace the boiler but the issue was fixed using an expansion chamber, but now it’s playing up again.

The control radiator in the hall is hot, and when I say hot I mean 62.3° according to my digital pointy thermometer, and is making screaming noises. The thermostat in the same hall (a window away from the control radiator) says it is 24° with the On/Off temp set at 22°, having turned it down in desperation to cool the place down.

So why is the control radiator on? Yesterday the lounge room was over 26° and considering this is a double height room that’s cosy.

Any thoughts on this?

37 REPLIES 37
Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 8

Re: More Central Heating Woes

I'm no expert, but can you tell if your thermostat is on?  ie is it the thermostat not working, or is the thermostat switching the boiler off, but the boiler not actually turning off?  The might narrow it down a little.  If its the thermostat then that should be fairly cheap and easy to change.

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 82

I had an issue where the motorised control valve for the heating pump wouldn't close and it kept pumping water round the system and firing the boiler all the time. House was like a sauna and the engineer had to replace the control valve.

Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable

Well @pjmarsh it appears to be, it's a digital thermostat and when adjusted it makes the appropriate clicking noises in the right places. It also has an icon on it to tell the user if the boiler is On/Off and in this instance it is showing as off. But the continued heat supply to the control radiator is telling me another thing.

Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable

That's a thought @SpendLessTime, I'll go and get a screwdriver (to use as a stethoscope) and have a listen to the pump.