Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mobile broadband

community
Grafter

Mobile broadband

I have a simple question.
I want to be able to surf the internet from a mobile, to supplement my PC when I haven't got access to my PC (on holiday e.g.)
which mobile phone has this available, probably only iPhones? (I am new to this)
I would like to have some recommendation for which phones to buy,please.
I object to long contracts.
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Re: Mobile broadband

There are a number of mobile phones that can do this, made by companies such as Apple (of course), Motorola, Palm, HTC and Nokia. These are all smartphones, so surfing the internet is just one of many features the phones will have… is there anything else you would want to achieve with the phone (aside from phone calls of course)? That might help us point you to a particularly suitable model or brand.
Fixes: 104

Lots and lots of phones have this, I was using the internet on my Nokia long before the iPhone hit the shelves.
Would you be holidaying in this country or abroad? Data rates whilst abroad are extortionate.
I have a phone with Android on - which is a phone OS built by Google based on Linux. It works well.
Will Moderate For Thanks
Community Veteran

Quote from: adiewoo
Lots and lots of phones have this, I was using the internet on my Nokia long before the iPhone hit the shelves.

As was I, but I suspect what community wants is something fairly akin to desktop browsing (in terms of speed, features, ease of use etc.) – up until three years ago the internet on mobile phones was really just an ‘if needs must’ affair. So I think we should be focussing on smartphones, as they will actually provide a decent browsing experience, rather than simply any phone that can connect to the internet.
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

T-Mobile MDA Vario III will do what you want, I have one but I am using Virgin Mobile on it.
community
Grafter

Wow, thanks for your prompt replies guys!