cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Learning to play the guitar

randpwar
Grafter

Learning to play the guitar

My family bought me a guitar form Xmas. Really happy about it and I very much want to learn to play it from the absolute ground floor of knowledge…okay, I know to hold it with the strings pointing out but that’s about it.
My lad is pretty good on the ukulele and my brother’s a very good guitarist and he comes over (for the promise of a free meal) and the two jam and compose their own pieces occasionally.
My question is: what is the best way to learn to play the guitar? I’ve done the dvd that came with the guitar and looked at a few youtube videos and they’ve helped to a degree I suppose but I can’t help thinking having a trainer in the room must be best? I’m thinking of having ‘formal’ lessons and augmenting that with my brother’s help on his occasional visits
4 REPLIES
Fixes: 47

Re: Learning to play the guitar

I'm self taught and if you heard me play you would soon appreciate that it's not always the best way to go.
Formal lessons would be ideal as you would get a good grounding in music theory as well as the practicalities.
The encouragement of your brother would be a welcome bonus.
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
nanotm
Pro
Fixes: 1

if you can read sheet music then go for proper lessons if your the kind of person who listens to a piece of music then works out how to play it by sound don't bother getting forma lessons unless you want to learn how to read music and learn all the technical terms and where each chord/key is located on the various frets along the neck
I cant read music and I hated guitar lessons but I guess some of it stuck since that was over 25 years ago Smiley
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
Community Veteran
Fixes: 2