cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LastPass is Being Acquired by LogMeIn

Steve
Seasoned Pro

LastPass is Being Acquired by LogMeIn

Seems the company has sold out to LogMeIn. Just retrieved all my passwords to my new password manager and closed my LastPass account. It's a shame because I've been using it for a few years but I cannot ignore the bad things about this LogMeIn company.
http://www.techtimes.com/articles/93778/20151012/lastpass-users-see-red-over-logmein-acquisition-thr...

https://forums.lastpass.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=185955

by Merchy » Fri Oct 09, 2015 11:02 am
LMI screwed over both Free and Paid users. They have fantastic software but the company is run by tone-deaf, greedy vultures. I always thought the LMI Free was too good to last and I wasn't surprised that they finally started charging. However, the manner in which they did it was appalling - giving users seven days to find an alternative and move any users over. As a paying Central customer, I thought I'd be safe from their predatory ways but I was wrong. Every year for the last three years I was thanked for my loyalty by having my costs double at renewal time. I went from $250 for approximately 125 users to almost $1400 in that time frame. Needless to say, I found an alternative for almost a 1/10th of that cost. It isn't as good but it's amazing for the price.
I can only assume that LP will have a peaceful transition to LMI for a year or so before they alienate the user base with unrealistic pricing and little to no time to migrate to a different product. Eventually they will integrate LP into LMI and you will have to buy the entire over-priced package just to use LP features.
Quoting LMI's own announcement = "In the near-term, both the Meldium and LastPass product lines will continue to be supported, with longer-term plans to center around a singular identity management offering based on the LastPass service and brand."