cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LED TV question

Leapy
Aspiring Pro

LED TV question

I'm a bit confused over LED TV types, between direct and edge types.

Here is what LG say on the matter http://www.lg.com/uk/support/product-help/CT32002778-1372771993364-others but, it is still unclear (to me) which is better in the long-run as they still make both types?

For example there is a £200 difference between the two types on the LG 55uj635v and the LG 55UJ651V so is it best to pay more and would they both last as long?

The pub is two minutes from my home, although my home is two hours from the pub,
11 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 6

Re: LED TV question

I'm no expert on this, but reading your link I wouldn't say that one is overall better than the other, though depending on what you want one may be.  A TV which it edge lit would be thinner, where as a back-lit TV would give you better dark colours.  If you have a quick google, you'll find those two models you've just only £50 difference.

Leapy
Aspiring Pro

@pjmarsh Thanks £50 is around 10%

So... is direct LEDs with darker blacks better and the potential of  the "halo" effect of bright images on dark backgrounds a good trade-off? 

The pub is two minutes from my home, although my home is two hours from the pub,
VileReynard
All Star
Fixes: 11

Go to a shop and compare actual models.

Let the eyes decide. Grin

Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 6

I'd say it is totally down to person preference.  What I would do myself is go to a show and have a look at the two models (even if they are different sizes) and see what you think.  You can always then go away and buy it online if you prefer, or you never know, the store may price match, though you would need to get it home yourself them, or pay for delivery.

Community Veteran
Fixes: 9

@VileReynard wrote:

Go to a shop and compare actual models.

Let the eyes decide. Grin

Not always that straighforward.