cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just treated myself to a halogen oven

Steve
Seasoned Pro

Just treated myself to a halogen oven

I was going to buy a JML ( 10 litre ) one at Argos for £44.99 ( reduced from £59.99 ) It was just going to be the oven and two racks  and nothing more. But as a noob I thought It was a steal, Until I done my research. The bulb blows and Is not easy to replace, Sparks In the lid, Bulb protector going rusty, Rubbish customer service and a few other things.
Then I found one on Amazon for £39.99 ( 12 litre ) ( reduced from £89.95 )And It comes with everything Inc a spare bulb that Is easily replaceable. 128 page Recipe Book,  A Two year warranty !  1 x Set of Tongs 1 x Low food grill 1 x High food grill 1 x Baking Tray 1 x Steamer Tray 1 x Oven Height Extender Ring 1 x Lid holder 4 x skewer forks and good customer service apparently, People have rated this Halogen Oven at 4 and a half stars out of 5 and Its roughly 647 customers. Apparently this Is the second model Of this oven from the seller, I think first one was just that the bulb was also a nightmare to replace.
And It was featured on come dine with me. So If you are on the market for one perhaps you should do your research on these before going and buying one, I am so glad I did. Smiley
20 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 3

Re: Just treated myself to a halogen oven

I have an halogen oven (over 2 yrs) along with a multitude of kitchen gadgets, and i must say its the best kitchen gadget i have ever bought.
I find i can cook some things in half the time then a regular oven, no heat up time and less electricity usage than a regular oven , and joints of meat taste much more juicy and tender when cooked in the halogen, so win win . Smiley
When cooking joints of meat i always use the extender ring and the low rack.
I tend to cook sausage , bacon, chops, chicken breasts etc at about 180 degrees, if given a set temperature i always go 20 degrees lower.