cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just a Thought

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,789
Thanks: 1,134
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Just a Thought

My work PC is on the network and when I shut it down I get two consecutive boxes on screen.
The first is one which says "Closing Network Connection". This then disappears.
Then a second one appears saying "Saving Your Settings"
If the network connection is closed how can the profile (settings) be saved to the server.
Does Microsoft have a second secret connection known only to the chosen few (e.g anotherone) or has it got it's under garments in a twist.
Just a thought Undecided
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
20 REPLIES
Lurker
Grafter
Posts: 1,867
Registered: 23-10-2008

Re: Just a Thought

Knowing MS its probably a hangover from the days before roaming profiles.
We all know they don't bother replacing code, they simply layer more over the top of it as a general rule.
Its something we've all seen many times and not given any thought to it though - you must clearly be in a questioning mood today.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,254
Thanks: 905
Fixes: 105
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Just a Thought

You still have a local and a roaming profile, when you log of your roaming profile is updated then followed by your local profile.
Your roaming one before the network closes then your local one after.
Causes me a right headache..
Will Moderate For Thanks
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,789
Thanks: 1,134
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Just a Thought

Quote from: James_G
Knowing MS its probably a hangover from the days before roaming profiles.

That has more than a passing ring of truth to it.
One of the problems I have is explaining to my clients that loading their desktops with stuff slows down their PC's start-up. I have had roaming profiles in excess of 1GB Roll eyes
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,254
Thanks: 905
Fixes: 105
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Just a Thought

That'll be me, well 998MB at last count  Wink
Will Moderate For Thanks
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,789
Thanks: 1,134
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Just a Thought

One of my ex-clients, who has to remain nameless and brainless, decided to create a shortcut on her desktop to a 17.5GB folder on the server.
You can guess what she actually did Roll eyes
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
Lurker
Grafter
Posts: 1,867
Registered: 23-10-2008

Re: Just a Thought

Upgrade to Server 2003 or later!
OK, I know its not a sensible suggestion for lots of people, generally because they don't control the purse strings, but it was one of the reasons I used in my proposal to upgrade our infrastructure.
Although I confess I need to spend some time on S2008 to figure out if its worth upgrading yet.

EDIT: Chortles at Strats last post too... Grin
Lurker
Grafter
Posts: 1,867
Registered: 23-10-2008

Re: Just a Thought

If we want to get into daft things, one of my 'weekend' clients called me yesterday to say he was using massive amounts of storage on his computer.
All he'd really done is mapped to the same network storage multiple times, but he was wondering how he'd gone from having 50GB to having a total of 250GB of data.
Apparently he'd already tried deleting one of the 'copies' of the data, but after trying a single file he noticed it made it disappear from the other 'copies' too.
Even after talking him through disconnecting them, and the concept of shared storage he still didn't seem entirely certain. Tongue
maranello
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 932
Thanks: 74
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Just a Thought

Quote from: Strat
One of my ex-clients,

Seems a bit harsh treatment.
My other car isn't a Ferrari
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,789
Thanks: 1,134
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Just a Thought

She was only a temp anyway Smiley
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,789
Thanks: 1,134
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Just a Thought

Quote from: James_G
Upgrade to Server 2003 or later!

Confession time:
I have, sitting on a desk behind me as I type, a Proliant 350, a set of 2003 Small Business Server Premium disks and 15 extra client licenses.
It is beyond my capabilities to install and configure the entire suit including SQL server and migrate all our data including exchange databases.
I have been quoted around £16k for the whole job less SQL which happens to be the core of our business.
Those that control our purse strings can't see why it should cost more than £1k.
Stalemate Roll eyes
So we continue on 2000sbs...
PS Considering I came to this company 22 years ago as the welder I don't think I've done too bad including surviving a C: drive failure and having to do a bare metal recovery with outdated software.
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,254
Thanks: 905
Fixes: 105
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Just a Thought

i'll do it for 6k inc sql  Wink
Will Moderate For Thanks
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,789
Thanks: 1,134
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Just a Thought

We probably couldn't afford your 'incidental expenses' adie Smiley

Sorry that probably belongs in another thread Wink
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Just a Thought

And you can't afford me as a secret connection either Dick Grin
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,789
Thanks: 1,134
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Just a Thought

Cry Life's a female dog Sad
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation