cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issues with BT Speed Test Site

Mook
Champion
Posts: 785
Thanks: 550
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎27-12-2019

Issues with BT Speed Test Site

As this isn't specific to Plusnet so I thought it best to put it here, it is after all a general question.

Which is: Does this happen to anyone else?

When I use the BT speed test site I always get stupid results like this!

Results.png


Then when I try the "Additional Diagnostic" I get this:

AddInfo.png

after I've entered and confirmed my phone number, it remains on screen and never changes.

This has been ongoing for some time so does anyone have thoughts on this?

 

8 REPLIES 8
Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,395
Thanks: 3,342
Fixes: 505
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Issues with BT Speed Test Site

I had reason to use it recently and the first stage gave reasonable results but the 'additional diagnostic' failed to run and suggested I try later, which I did with success.

I used to get wacky speed results on the previous version.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 88.0.1 (64-bit)

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 484
Thanks: 39
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Issues with BT Speed Test Site

Hi @Mook 

This has been discussed previously here. 

I've only seen this behaviour using an iPhone, Windows, Linux and Android all fine, wireless and wired.

Hope this helps

Dan

Mook
Champion
Posts: 785
Thanks: 550
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎27-12-2019

Re: Issues with BT Speed Test Site

I knew that @Dan_the_Van having contributed but as a thread its stalled so I thought I'd try again. Well nothing ventured nothing gained.

archerry
Rising Star
Posts: 74
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎15-06-2013

Re: Issues with BT Speed Test Site

@Mook 

I got the normal report just now using our phone number.

Downloaded report attached.

Regards,

Alistair

Edit: Firefox on kubuntu 20.04

acr
Rising Star
Posts: 261
Thanks: 27
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Issues with BT Speed Test Site

I have the same problem when using Safari (on a Mac). A recent test is reporting my download speed as 205.98 Mbps ! Previous tests using Safari have all been similar. When trying "Additional Diagnostics" it always gets stuck at the same point as with you.

If I use Chrome (on the same Mac) it works correctly.

Mook
Champion
Posts: 785
Thanks: 550
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎27-12-2019

Re: Issues with BT Speed Test Site

Interesting, so for what it's worth I'm using Safari v14.0.3 on OSX Big Sur v11.2.2 with a DrayTek 2952 Dual Wan Router. I'll fire up an Ubuntu VM see what that gives me.

 

Used a running Windows Server instead and when using Firefox on Windows and it worked so this would appear to be an issue with Safari. Would never install Chrome on anything @acr but thanks for letting me know it works.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,851
Thanks: 2,322
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Issues with BT Speed Test Site

Mine look OK.Screenshot_2021-02-27 BTW Performance Tester.png

Screenshot_2021-02-27 BTW Performance Tester(1).png

Apart from the Upload - just not possible.

John
goldenfibre
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,180
Thanks: 164
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Issues with BT Speed Test Site

Mine seem fine after click Run Diagnostic as the test result came back within a few seconds.

 

Screenshot_2021-02-27 BTW Performance Tester.png