cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I just have to get this out

robert25174

I just have to get this out

I am new to plusnet, i moved here because (not naming any companies) my last ISP was hacked about a year ago, and many of the customers details were stolen(including my own), I have received many(about 3 a day) phone calls from scammers. the lastest one was today, and i decided to have a bit of fun. here is how the call went.

Scammer: hello, my name is David(yet had a strong Indian accent), I'm calling from **** ****, 

Me, Oh really?

Scammer:yes, it has come to our attention that you need a new router, due to a problem on the line

Me:can I ask you 1 question?

Scammer:yes go ahead

Me: can you tell me why I know this is a scam call?

Scammer: I can tell you why it is not a scam call, I am calling from **** *****, and I have your account number, we are the only ones in the world that have your account number.

Me: Now that's not true, because about a year ago, **** ****, was hacked and many details were stolen

Scammer: yes, but that was suspended in October

Me: I'll tell you why this is a scam call, I am no longer with **** ****

Scammer: why didn't you say that at the start instead of asking questions, you ^(*&(*&*&(*&, &(*&(&(*&(, (*(*               (he started to get abusive), I'm hanging up now, 

I would like to know if anyone else experienced this

6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Fixes: 8

Re: I just have to get this out

You should have told him you were waiting for an incoming call and could he call back on a different number - then give him the number of the local police station!

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Fixes: 7

Oh you got an internet police call!!! I love those.. they're so much fun!