cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hand held speed traps Ilegal point)

Community Veteran
Fixes: 13

Hand held speed traps Ilegal point)

This morning, whilst driving a "normal route" along the main A3 London to Portsmouth road, the road has a 30mph speed limit for about 15 miles into Portsmouth.... It used to be 30 and 40 mph, and was reasonably well sign posted... However, the council, in its wisdom decided to implement a partial bus route, where the road was wide enough (the old 40 mph section)
Being a careful driver, I observe the limit as best as possible... I may do 32 mph if I feel daring ! !... but I noticed a yellow safety jacket in the distance, talking to a pedestrian.  As I passed these two figures, I noticed the one in the yellow safety jacket, was a policeman.... on my return journey past the same position, I noticed same figure using a hand held speed gun, and also two high speed police cars, hidden away in a concealed driveway....
the legal point I want to know is....
A should there have been warning signs, i,e. a picture of a speed camera, dispayed before reaching this position.
(All so called "safety partnership" vehicles with concealed cameras have one of these displayed on the back of the vehicle when in use)
B.  what was the purpose of  the high speed police vehicles hiding in the driveway, except to do just that .... HIDE their activity...
I am not  saying that we should only drive at the speed limit when we see adequate warning signs that a speed camera is in operation.... only the fact that this seemed to be an "illegal" use of the camera, without the warning signs in position.
any offers ?
4 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Re: Hand held speed traps Ilegal point)

I'm not a lawyer, but I'm sure that speed cameras are legal - I've seen them used many times, and even I serviced for them for the police many, many moons ago when our company had a contract with Essex police - and I was one of the radar techies.