cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Google - "Press Enter to Search"

SparckZero
Grafter
Posts: 184
Registered: 15-07-2009

Google - "Press Enter to Search"

Fired up Google this morning and saw their new "lightweight" search page (see screenshot attached).
Found more info about it here: http://thenextweb.com/appetite/2009/10/31/press-enter-search-google-search-buttonless/
Does anyone actually use the Search / I'm Feeling Lucky buttons? I can't honestly remember the last time I did Roll eyes
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,249
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 56
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Google - "Press Enter to Search"

Yes - I have used it - but only by accident  Embarrassed
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,826
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 1
Registered: 24-09-2008

Re: Google - "Press Enter to Search"

Like oldjim, only by accident,
although I tend to use    http://www.givemebackmygoogle.com/ ;         for general searches
it puts    -inurlSadkelkoo|bizrate|pixmania|dealtime|pricerunner|dooyoo|pricegrabber|pricewatch|resellerratings|ebay|shopbot|comparestoreprices|ciao|unbeatable|shopping|epinions|nextag|buy|bestwebbuys)
into the search line, thus taking out the affilate sites from the search
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,249
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 56
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Google - "Press Enter to Search"

i am surprised about Pixmania as that isn't a comparison site
and ebay as well
Community Veteran
Posts: 13,923
Thanks: 514
Fixes: 7
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Google - "Press Enter to Search"

I've not used the lucky button since last year and even then I only used it to remind myself what it does as it had been so long. Sends you straight to the first result it finds and we all know how useless those can frequently be.
Must be said though I've just checked google and that hit enter line isn't there!
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
SparckZero
Grafter
Posts: 184
Registered: 15-07-2009

Re: Google - "Press Enter to Search"

@okrzynska:
I think they're doing selective testing - not sure how they're dishing out the cookies for that though, my desktop computer doesn't get the "Hit Enter" line, but my laptop does - both signed in with the same Google account and both using the same net connection.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,375
Thanks: 632
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Google - "Press Enter to Search"

Quote from: journeys
although I tend to use    http://www.givemebackmygoogle.com/ ;         for general searches

Thanks for that. Reading the FAQ I was amazed to see what you can but on eBay!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,826
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 1
Registered: 24-09-2008

Re: Google - "Press Enter to Search"

@ oldjim ..good point although don't use Pixmania, I use ebay, but go straight to it when I need it
suppose what I want would be a command line option based on a couple of key strokes, something like alt and f8 that will insert -inurlSadkelkoo|bizrat etc etc after the search parameters
But apathy rules, I've lived without it so far
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Google - "Press Enter to Search"

I find the right click easy search good as well on Firefox 3.5.4
craigyoung
Grafter
Posts: 208
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: Google - "Press Enter to Search"

The only time I've used 'I'm feeling lucky' is after typing in 'French military victories' in the search box.  Still makes me chuckle even though it's an old one.