cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fuses for a standard plug

Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Posts: 4,143
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-04-2007

Fuses for a standard plug

Hi All
Any one know where I can get 1 AMP Fuse for a United Kingdom standard plug?
82 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,544
Thanks: 190
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

Bought some new fuses a few weeks ago and 2A were the smallest on sale together with 5A and 13A.  May I ask why you need a 1A one?
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,755
Thanks: 1,120
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/searchBrowseAction.html?method=getProduct&R=0412986A
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
barky
Grafter
Posts: 166
Registered: 21-01-2009

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

1A is for shaver adaptors  (etc).. should be quite easy to find .. somewhere like maplin electronics .. maybe even tesco?
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

this is a bit more like it, only 10 per pack http://www.asecurityonestopshop.com/products.asp?partno=165312423
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

shaver fuses are the wrong size

1A Shaver Adaptor Fuse 2 Pack
    * 20mm x 5mm
    * Conforms to BS646
    * Supplied in pack of 2
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

Quote from: artmo
Bought some new fuses a few weeks ago and 2A were the smallest on sale together with 5A and 13A.  May I ask why you need a 1A one?

current UK sizes are 3, 5, 13A  25.4mm long, 6.3mm dia
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

A little test. A 5 volt supply using 20mm x 5mm in a crowbar circuit (crowbar = short circuit)
Would both of these fuses blow?
a) 120mA fuse
b)  3A fuse
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,544
Thanks: 190
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

2A fuses are available in Tesco - bought a mixed pack a few weeks ago. Roll eyes
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Posts: 4,143
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-04-2007

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

Quote from: artmo
Bought some new fuses a few weeks ago and 2A were the smallest on sale together with 5A and 13A.  May I ask why you need a 1A one?

[My Bold] The smallest on sale in Middlesbrough is 3 AMP Fuses.   13 AMP Fuses should only be used in washing machines or irons.  The highest AMP Fuse that should be used these days is 5 AMP Fuse for crt monitor or crt TV, for TFT monitor the maximum is 3 AMP Fuse, me LG 22" TFT TV come with a 10 AMP Fuse wat went in the bin, and replaced with 5 AMP Fuse.
The reason way I want 1 AMP Fuses is for my lamps, I bought a lamp from a lighting center and it had a 13 AMP Fuse in it, the 13 AMP Fuse went in the bin and replaced with 3 AMP Fuse, but a sparky said that I should use 1 AMP Fuses in lamps these days.
Thank you pierre for the link.
Community Veteran
Posts: 7,149
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

Most lighting is protected by a 5amp fuse, which is a direct replacement (size wise) for a 13amp fuse in a 13amp plug, don't think you'll find many plugs that have a 1amp fuse fitting, although you could possibly squeeze the fuse holder prongs together for a 1amp to be used, if you really must. But I think for lighting you'll be changing the fuse every few minutes.
Experience; is something you gain, just after you needed it most.

When faced with two choices, simply toss a coin. It works not because it settles the question for you. But because in that brief moment while the coin is in the air. You suddenly know what you are hoping for.
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Posts: 4,143
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-04-2007

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

@Petlew, the 1 AMP Fuse what I want are the standard size for standard UK plugs, and no the light will not be going out every few minutes, I have a number of lamps with 1 AMP Fuses in the plug.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

As Stat proved with his link (and every ignored, possible because the picture was of a 13A fuse) 1A mains fuses are available. But normally only from commercial suppliers. 3A is fine for lighting providing the mains lead to the lamp is rated at least 3A. (Which I am sure is will be.)
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Posts: 4,143
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-04-2007

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

I did not ignore Strat 's link you can only buy them in pk of 100 at £242, so I ran from it, that is a shocking price.
198kHz
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,217
Thanks: 253
Fixes: 7
Registered: 30-07-2008

Re: Fuses for a standard plug

#!/bin/sh has got to the point. The fuse is there to protect the mains lead. The lowest-rated approved lead is rated at 3 amps.
Not young enough to know everything