cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Freeview upgrade to HD

itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Freeview upgrade to HD

Anyone know the reason why HD TV's that have Freeview receivers can't be upgraded to Freeview HD?
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

Probably needs a newer faster Freeview chip.
Given the integration of electronics in these things it would probably cost more to upgrade than buy a whole new TV.  Crazy
That's modern manufacturing for you.  Grin
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,307
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

This would be rather like trying to upgrade an existing wireless router from 'g' to 'n'.
Freeview HD uses a different 'tuner chipset' that is backward compatible with standard Freeview, just not practical to upgrade, pity it couldn't be done with just a firmware patch though.
I'm astounded that there are so many TV sets on sale with 1080 resolution but only Freeview rather than Freeview HD tuners, we've known it was coming for long enough, why are the manufacturers lagging since I believe that most regions now have Freeview HD transmissions and those that don't will have it pretty soon.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
nadger
Rising Star
Posts: 4,498
Thanks: 46
Registered: 13-04-2007

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

When I bought a new Panasonic tele, last Oct, I went for 1080p, 100hz and Freeview HD but actually use Freesat HD and keep Humax Freeview to record programmes in SD. Tuner in set isn't actually used.
Not looked lately but hopefully more sets are coming out with either Freeview or Freesat HD albeit there are currently only 4 major HD channels.
Assuming set has HDMI input it's probably easier, and cheaper, to use external box.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,556
Thanks: 171
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

I've just done a search on http://www.freeview.co.uk/availability/main/indexhd/ for my postcode in Filey, North Yorkshire and it says Aug 2011.

I had my local television Ariel installer up here in the sticks in Filey, put a new Ariel and booster and a feed through to more rooms about 2 years ago when we knew of the changeover to digital. In the good old analogue days we had the equivalent of the bent wire coat-hanger and that was good enough. But he said that the Yorkshire transmitter would be later and that reception would always be better from Bilsdale  in Teesside so that is where our ariel is pointing. I dont think in our conversation there was any technical issue with getting HD though our Panasonic from Freeview and we also have SKY HD. I shoud find out next month  Huh
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16,540
Thanks: 1,789
Fixes: 125
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

Quote from: walker23
...and those that don't will have it pretty soon.

We're not due till 27th June 2012. TV has both Freeview and Freesat HD. Freesat HD is terrific just wish more channels were available. There's a few more (can't remember what) under the 'Other Freesat channels' option but nothing of note.
Also wish Sky would allow their HD package without having to subscribe to their basic package. I'd be prepared to pay a liitle more for this.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Heloman
Grafter
Posts: 519
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

I have a Sony HD TV with Freeview and we get a BBC, ITV and Channel 5 HD channel in addition to their normal ones.
It depends on your area. You can check availability here:
http://www.freeview.co.uk/HD
nadger
Rising Star
Posts: 4,498
Thanks: 46
Registered: 13-04-2007

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

Quote from: Heloman
we get a BBC, ITV and Channel 5 HD channel
That's strange as it's normally CH4 HD with both Freeview and Freesat.
Whilst CH5 is transmitted in HD it's not, to my knowledge, available yet for free.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,760
Thanks: 1,120
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

Neither Freeview nor Freesat mention 5 HD in my area Undecided
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
nadger
Rising Star
Posts: 4,498
Thanks: 46
Registered: 13-04-2007

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

randpwar
Grafter
Posts: 1,308
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

No mention of 5 HD on the Feeview website but plenty of chatter about it on forums, strangely most dated about a year ago
http://www.freeview.co.uk/HD/Programmes
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,545
Thanks: 191
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

@ nadger, thank you for your link.  It's a very interesting article and answers some questions being asked.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,760
Thanks: 1,120
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

Yes it explains a lot...
...and it lead me onto this rogue traders video which I found amazing how much deceit occurred.
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,760
Thanks: 1,120
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

Just had a quick look on Currys site.
Of the 134 Freeview TVs with 1080 panels 85 had Freeview HD tuners leaving 49 capable of displaying live transmissions in 1080 HD if only they had an HD tuner Roll eyes
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
Heloman
Grafter
Posts: 519
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Freeview upgrade to HD

Quote from: nadger

Whilst CH5 is transmitted in HD it's not, to my knowledge, available yet for free.

You are quite right of course.
I should have said CH4, not 5. Apologies  Embarrassed