Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flying is safe, but landing....

Stewie
Grafter

Flying is safe, but landing....

Quote a BA flight memo ;-
The Landing Pilot is the Non-Handling Pilot until the 'decision altitude' call, when the Handling Non-Landing Pilot hands the handling to the Non-Handling Non-Landing Pilot, unless the latter calls 'go-around,' in which case the Handling Non-Landing pilot continues handling and the Non-Handling Landing Pilot continues non handling until the next call of 'land' or 'go-around' as appropriate. In view of recent confusions over these rules, it was deemed necessary to restate them clearly.
14 REPLIES
pierre_pierre
Grafter

Re: Flying is safe, but landing....

Urh do what Roll eyes
pierre_pierre
Grafter

how safe is driving
N/A

Sounds an eminently sensible way to do things...
Fixes: 105

Off forum you're a dodgy consultant aren't James_H?  Tongue
Will Moderate For Thanks
N/A

Welllll, I work in IT, and I have been known to do the odd bit of consultancy. I also seek to employ 'smoke and mirror' tactics when proposing projects internally.
Just remember - if they know what you mean, you have to deliver what you say.
If you can leave them in any doubt at all, its always going to be easier to convince them you delivered more, faster and cheaper than promised. Wink
Fixes: 47

...a philosophy I have tried to live by since being thrust kicking and screaming into the frustrating world of IT support and administration.
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
N/A

I reckon everybody in IT does similar - we know from far too many late nights that stuff can go a little pear shaped, hence always building in buffer zones in projects.
Promise 80% of what you expect to deliver.
Schedule 120% of the time you need to deliver the 80% + the other 20% you reckon you'll deliver.
Declare a budget of 120% of the market rate, safe in the knowledge that you can do if far cheaper than the market rate.