cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FF 29 and Adblock

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,586
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 14
Registered: 16-02-2009

FF 29 and Adblock

Since I updated to FF 29, adblock is NOT loading at start, I need to refresh the tabs to get rid of the ad's now.
Not sure if it is only with a restored session (as all mine are),
I thought it was strange when I saw some pron ads the other day, a refresh and they disappeared as normal.
24 REPLIES
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

I had the same for about a day after I updated but all is ok now on windows
Correct me if I am wrong
You are using linux
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,586
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 14
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

Yes I am using Linux, but can't see it being an OS issue, it only happened with the update to 29.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16,541
Thanks: 1,792
Fixes: 125
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

Not had this issue on either main PC or laptop.
I'm using Adblock plus 2.6

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

That said
I have rebooted Laptop & cleared a load of carp, that build up in the cache since
I am also on Adblock 2.6
Here are my settings to compare

Heloman
Grafter
Posts: 519
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

FWIW,  I'm having exactly the same problem.
When I first start  FF 29, the adverts appear. However as soon as I refresh the page,  Adblock Plus 2.6 springs in to life and they disappear.
This problem only started with the update to FF 29.
Like Hairy, I'm a Linux user  (PCLinuxOS).
Community Veteran
Posts: 16,834
Thanks: 1,124
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

Not using Adblock.... but had to re-install IMtranslator, cos it went missing from the right click context menus....  ( Windows Vista Home premium ).....
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,460
Thanks: 274
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

Heloman
Grafter
Posts: 519
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

Thanks for that,  purleigh.
Seems the problem is with Adblock 2.6, and we'll just have to live with it  Sad
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,586
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 14
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

Loads of complaints in the forum there, and the details on the about page are a bit vague:
Quote
Starting with Adblock Plus 2.5.1.3778 Firefox seems to start up almost as fast with Adblock Plus as it does without. The only disadvantage should be that Adblock Plus is ready a bit later and the first page loading might still have ads.

Might no might about it it does on the first WINDOW not just the first page!  Shocked Maybe with all the complaints they will put a switch in to disable this "feature"
Community Veteran
Posts: 7,149
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

Nope, just this minute updated to V29, my Adblock is fine without touching anything
Can't say I'm keen on the minimalist icon colour scheme though, and prefer the "back" button on the left end. Off to look through the FF skin theme's
Experience; is something you gain, just after you needed it most.

When faced with two choices, simply toss a coin. It works not because it settles the question for you. But because in that brief moment while the coin is in the air. You suddenly know what you are hoping for.
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,545
Thanks: 191
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

I don't use Adblock at present. Can someone please tell me if it removes the short video ads that are shown on Youtube before the main video starts?
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

I have not seen AD in the beginning of the videos from youtube for a while
You could test to see if any I have linked to produces ADs for you
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16,541
Thanks: 1,792
Fixes: 125
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

Quote from: artmo
I don't use Adblock at present. Can someone please tell me if it removes the short video ads that are shown on Youtube before the main video starts?
It doesn't for me Angry

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Veteran
Posts: 18,545
Thanks: 191
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: FF 29 and Adblock

@Mav, thanks for that. I don't think it will help me then to install it. It's just irritating to have to watch the ad before whatever you want to watch.