cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Energy Smart meters & Wi-Fi

bertmay
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎28-07-2009

Energy Smart meters & Wi-Fi

How do the energy smart meters send their measurements back to the supplying company & send the usage readings to the home display unit?

Do they interfere with router Wi-Fi?

Is it Wi-Fi or Wifi or Wi-fi, I keep getting red underlines?

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,876
Thanks: 4,879
Fixes: 1,236
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Energy Smart meters & Wi-Fi

The meters have a built in cellular network and don't rely on your connection.
Display unit also connects to cellular network, though some you can also connect to wifi.
There's no interference caused to your home wifi.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,597
Thanks: 3,461
Fixes: 515
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Energy Smart meters & Wi-Fi

I believe customer to supplier and back is via a private mobile channel using the services of a company called DCC.

@dvorak types faster.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 90.0.2 (64-bit)

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
bertmay
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎28-07-2009

Re: Energy Smart meters & Wi-Fi

Here's another one,

Any interference with Ford key less car fobs?

Also with BT cordless phones?

Thanks again

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,876
Thanks: 4,879
Fixes: 1,236
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Energy Smart meters & Wi-Fi

Shouldn't be, different frequency bands.

Also if there was mass interference we might have heard about it - there are more than 23 million smart meters installed

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
bertmay
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎28-07-2009

Re: Energy Smart meters & Wi-Fi

Thanks to all replies, my questions were just nibbling at me.