cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Emergency Windscreen

Community Veteran
Fixes: 28

Emergency Windscreen

I have been toting one around in my boot for many years.... ( wonder if it`s still any good,... must check it out in the morning ! )... 
I have a chip in the middle of the bottom of the screen, ( not in drivers view area) that has been "repaired"  by one of those free guys... ( and its passed the mot 4 times )... but it has started to develop a sideways crack.. I have arranged for Autoglass to come and replace the screen... and the earliest booking will be Dec 31st.  ( good job it`s not an emergency)... but , hey, that`s what my emergency screen is all about, right ?

The point of this thread, is..... How effective are they ?  do you have to knock out all the broken chipped glass? or just the bit in front of you ( drivers view area )... and put the screen over to keep the wind and rain out ?

How long can you use this for?  could it be used for a few days .... after the event... or only until you get the vehicle home. and await the replacement fitting of a new screen  ?

Thoughts, ideas, and experiences.. much appreciated... :smiley:

14 REPLIES 14
Marksfish
Pro
Fixes: 4

Re: Emergency Windscreen

I would carry on using the original screen and not worry too much about it. They are pretty strong, as they are now classed as a part of the structure. The crack may creep and grow a bit, but I doubt it will fall out :smiley: It took 8 months (and 30,000 miles) for the crack in my screen to become big enough to worry about changing.

idonno
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 3

The biggest problem at this time of year is ice. Gets in the crack and spreads it.