cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Driving on the wrong side.

Community Veteran

Driving on the wrong side.

I have never driven on the right hand side before but a work trip to New Jersey next week requires me to get a hire car.
I am a confident driver and have been driving for many years but looking at google maps, I have myself convinced that I am not going to make it out of Newark airport!
Anyone got any tips?
30 REPLIES
nadger
Rising Star

Re: Driving on the wrong side.

I found driving a car in US & Canada a lot easier than driving my own cars in Europe - at least the steering wheel is on correct side.
Take particular care when you first pull onto road and after you've made stops and been out of the car.
Don't panic - you'll be fine
Community Veteran
Fixes: 8

TIP: Whenever you go to get in to the car make sure you have a bag in your hand. Then, when you've opened the door and realise that you've gone to the passenger side instead of the drivers side, you can nonchalantly put the bag in the car and pretend it was intentional.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran

I'm currently driving in the US and do so for up to 10 weeks a year.  I agree with nadger it presents no problems so long as you keep your wits about you. Driving rules vary from State to State so check these out with your rental company before you leave their lot.  One example is turning right on red at stop lights.  Some States permit this but others don't.  If you are flying into Newark I guess you might be heading for NY.  If so it's worth considering if you really need a car as public transport is very good.  Parking in NY is also not easy. Enjoy your visit Smiley Smiley
pierre_pierre
Grafter