cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

It is a TFT Colour DVB / VGA / Monitor DVB-T (LCD)
Does anyone know how to tune it to the TV
Pressing the Menu button in DVB mode does nothing, yet it pulls up a menu box for altering the colour etc in monitor mode
I have tried a few combos of button presses also held for a few seconds & I am clearly not hitting the right combo
I have no specific make / model other than what it states on the device
SWMBO would like me to integrate it, into a competition project for her works & has to be done as cheap as is possible (The TFT Colour DVB / VGA / Monitor DVB-T (LCD) ) belongs to her works & they have lost the instructions / box & most likely any warranty that would be up now anyway, needless to say her boss is not well known for keeping instructions of goods purchased,
The most creative / frugal winner gets £250
& a deadline of 2 weeks, from yesterday
I have mentioned that there are other alternatives (however, we all know that all females have to be obeyed @ all times) in theory anyhow Tongue

12 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

I wouldn't rely on the inbuilt aerial until you have got it tuned properly with an external aerial.
I've not seen many portable DVB-T devices that can get a decent signal in any are other than close to the transmitter.
Community Veteran
Posts: 16,834
Thanks: 1,124
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

As DOM-s says.... you need a decent signal for this ultra modern TV stuff... not like in the old days when a wire coat hanger .... ( or even an empty gallon can ) could provide enough signal to show on the screen... try plugging it in direct to your outside aerial on the roof... and see what happens...
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,671
Thanks: 108
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

once the aerial is connected hit the dvb button until you get to the correct input then hit the menu key, the picture full of snow should with a channel umber in the corner should be a good indicator its on the right input Smiley
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

DVB doesn't give a picture full of snow as it is a digital system - you get a picture or you don't.
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

Try pressing Menu and then scrolling right with the Vol+ key and see if that takes you to a setup menu.
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

Thanks for the input Smiley
After I connected it to the main aerial
It had wavy lines going down the screen (easiest way to describe the lines) Is they are very much similar to Windows 95 / 98 when the resolution was set incorrectly & sometimes needed another monitor for chosen resolution or a re - install)
It also had flashing on the screen in the top left quadrant "Battery" & only shows when an external aerial is attached
As there is no battery compartment
I have opened it up & had a look to see if there is any sight of any that could be changed IE: CR2032 or similar & that would be a big fat no it is not
For those that may be interested hera are some pics of the internals

@pwatson
Thank you for the suggestion Smiley
I will try that after I screw it back together, & will let you know either way
Edit:


Unfortunately, that does not work
It does have an IR for a remote, so will dig out my all in one remote codes & test that theory
Infinity
Pro
Posts: 5,600
Thanks: 148
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-06-2011

Re: Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

Looks like a later version of this...
http://www.tjskl.org.cn/products/cz491c6/8_inch_dvb_t_lcd_color_tv-pzf50ea2.html
You could try emailing them to ask for a User Manual.
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

Cheers PlusComUK
I will do Smiley
Edit:


Email sent

Will update when I get a reply
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

Is the power supply you are using up to the job ? It says it needs 12v @ 18w so an absolute minimum of a regulated 12v PSU at 1.5 amps is required.
If you have a power supply that droops under load, it may be triggering the battery warning.
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

It's a Roadstar LCD-8082KDVBT (I suspect it's also sold under many other brandnames)
http://www.televize-lcd.cz/datasheet/LCD-8082KDVBT_pi.pdf
The Roadstar brand now seems to be owned by a Swiss company http://www.roadstar.com/
I've found plenty of copies of the service manual online but not the user instructions.
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

Cheers as always Smiley
@DomS
I never gave the power supply a though tbh, as it came with it (shouldn't take things for granted I guess)
Obviously the DVB-T requires a tad more power than the AV or Monitor (as they both worked well on tests)
Looking @ the power supply
It says on it
Model: MKD 12500UK
Input 240V AC 500mA
CB APPROVAL NO: DE 2-002409
Guess I am going to have a root through my spare power supplies then
Plus (I told advised SWMBO to have a look out for it, in work)
@pwatson
I never came across that link during my search (obviously you used different search criteria than I) Wink
I have also emailed them in the hope of a user manual
It shows a remote with the unit (have also told advised SWMBO to have a look out for it, in work)
P.S
As it is using a PHILLIPS DVB-T I will test with those codes for the all 10 in one remote
I wonder if any of the number sequences on the sticker could possibly be the code ?Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Does anyone know how to use, one of these ??

That appears to be a 6w battery charger from Googling the model number. You need at least 18W to conform to the rating on the back of the unit.