cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Digital Region to close

x47c
Grafter
Posts: 878
Registered: 14-08-2009

Digital Region to close

Latest on the ongoing fiasco...and from the horse's mouth itself.
Someone has finally pulled the plug on it.
http://www.digitalregion.co.uk/closure-of-digital-region-now-offers-best-deal-for-public-purse
13 REPLIES
oldgeezer
Grafter
Posts: 206
Registered: 02-02-2010

Re: Digital Region to close

And can you wonder !
A couple of years ago I watched them laying ducts and erecting FTTC cabinets all over the Crookes area of Sheffield.
The thing was that the area had already been completely covered by BT.
I was amazed to see BT PCP cabinets with a BT FTTC cabinet to one side and a DR FTTC cabinet to the other.
Did they ever imagine that consumers would chose DR with it's tiny range of nondescript ISP's instead of the cheaper BT Infinity offerings.
It could only happen in the Socialist Republic of South Yorkshire.
Oldgeezer.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Digital Region to close

Worth bearing in mind that DR have the main exchange in Sheffield, whereas BT have not rolled out fibre there (much to my disappointment).
ScottStorey
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 361
Thanks: 55
Fixes: 1
Registered: 21-02-2013

Re: Digital Region to close

The Attercliffe exchange is also lacking in the FTTC department, in fact it is still a 20CN exchange. So it looks like I'm back to 2Mbps max speeds.
Community Veteran
Posts: 13,921
Thanks: 514
Fixes: 7
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Digital Region to close

I thought this topic was going to be about digital TV (freeview) closing down lol  Crazy
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Mattz0r
Rising Star
Posts: 620
Fixes: 1
Registered: 21-07-2010

Re: Digital Region to close

Quote from: Scott
The Attercliffe exchange is also lacking in the FTTC department, in fact it is still a 20CN exchange. So it looks like I'm back to 2Mbps max speeds.

Noooooooooooooooooooo Sad
BUT - This gives BT room in the Attercliffe exchange to expand, because DR will no longer need the space - So We may see some FTTC Soon (TM) lol
Back to crappy speeds for me too Sad
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,765
Thanks: 1,124
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Digital Region to close

I know of one business customer near Sheffield centre who had a very good line with DR and another in Rotherham.
Unfortunately I can't recommend PN fibre to either of them as their exchanges or boxes aren't enabled yet.
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
x47c
Grafter
Posts: 878
Registered: 14-08-2009

Re: Digital Region to close

It will be interesting to see what happens next.
Do DR offically go bust? - then the receiver sells off the assets to bidders  - probably BT or virgin
The successful bidder then can re-start the service to customers.
BT/others can't just take it over as a "going concern" due to the overhanging debt which would go with it and BT etc won't want to take that on under any circumstances
If DR goes into receivership then the debt gets wiped out and the creditors get nothing.
What happens in the meantime to the subscribers -do they simply get cut off and the service may or maynot re-start if a bidder for the assets or indeed only some of the assets emerges.
I suspect OFCOM will be the the background working out a solution with interested parties and the official receiver if it goes down that path.
'twill be interesting to watch - from afar that is
Devonian
Grafter
Posts: 1,854
Registered: 01-05-2011

Re: Digital Region to close

Quote from: Sprite
I thought this topic was going to be about digital TV (freeview) closing down lol  Crazy

Me to!  I have never heard of it!
Mattz0r
Rising Star
Posts: 620
Fixes: 1
Registered: 21-07-2010

Re: Digital Region to close

Origin Broadband have said that they are going to continue serving customers, So not sure what they have planned!
x47c
Grafter
Posts: 878
Registered: 14-08-2009

Re: Digital Region to close

Quote from: Devonian
Me to!  I have never heard of it!

Probably just as well for your blood pressure
The figures were truly staggering
Only 3000 customers connected
and that works out as it costed an unbelievable £33000 in network build costs to connect each one.
and it runs on an ongoing subsidy to each customer of £300/month to provide the service. (that's effectively a total monthly loss of £900000)
I think the final straw was when they said a few weeks ago they needed another few more £10's of millions just to keep going for a bit or something.
The contractural relationships were slammed as being out of kilter, all the risks were dumped on the shareholders - I presume that was the taxpayers yet again.
It's just another complete and total public sector procurement disaster, and there are still people who claim they want to re-nationalise BTOR as the public sector will run it better............(runs off screaming)

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,765
Thanks: 1,124
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Digital Region to close

BT could well use the fibre infrastructure to extend their service into areas they currently don't offer fibre.
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
Mattz0r
Rising Star
Posts: 620
Fixes: 1
Registered: 21-07-2010

Re: Digital Region to close

http://portal.origin-broadband.co.uk/press
Not sure what they're going to do though, but sounds exciting!
Razer
Grafter
Posts: 1,375
Registered: 17-11-2012

Re: Digital Region to close

Quote
The estimated cost of continuing with the project would be an estimated £95.8 million.

Yeah, but is that estimated? I mean, I'm just not sure.