cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dangerous dust (explicit pictures included)

David_W
Rising Star

Dangerous dust (explicit pictures included)

A couple of days ago, with the windows open I smelt (is that the correct word, smelled? Smelt? Hrm) what seemed like plastic melting, I figured it was from outside.  I started playing Sim City 5 and not long after my sound would vanish and then my PC shut down on it's own.  Ahh, I thought, something seems to be amiss here.  I went into my BIOS and my CPU (after a restart when it should have cooled a fair bit) was running at 80c (176f).  I then understood that the smell of plastic burning may not have been coming from outside!
I decided that diagnostics where in order, so I pulled my PC case out and had a look inside.  The horror that met me.  Dust had gathered and started to plot a revolution!  The fans on my GPU cooler (aftermarket, Scythe, really an excellent choice), CPU, Case, Power supply, smothered in dust and behind, even worse.
A few minutes with a dust cloth and a soft brush got rid of the dust, I now have put the side on my case (before I left it wide open, not anymore).  I still really need to reseat my CPU and renew the thermal paste as I'm running 40c idle and up to 60 under load so I'm thinking that maybe the paste is past it's best before date.  The pictures are really horrific!  Taken with my lovely Nikon D5000 which is a fine (and reasonably priced 2nd hand) DSLR!
Now it's clean and clear, almost, but I'm surprised how much dust built up over really a rather short time, maybe a year or even less, simply because the case wasn't on properly!
18 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Fixes: 3

Re: Dangerous dust (explicit pictures included)

Smelled, I think  Smiley
Terrible stuff, dust!
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.