cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Contemplating a switch to Virgin Media - advice please

snozboz
Grafter
Posts: 384
Thanks: 2
Registered: 27-07-2007

Contemplating a switch to Virgin Media - advice please

Hello everyone!
I'm contemplating switching from Plusnet to Virgin Media, and would appreciate any advice or experience please.
My current package (monthly cost):
Plusnet Extra (minus £1 for a referral): £10.49
Line rental (non-Plusnet free eve & w/e) + calls averages about £15
TOTAL: about £25.50
What I might switch to (monthly cost):
Virgin Media "Classic Collection": £9 (for the first 6 months) then £18
Line rental: £13.90 or £10 (if pay £120 up front for the first year)
TOTAL: £22.90 (for the first 6 months) then £31.90, OR (if I pay £120 up front for the first year) £19 (for the first 6 months) then £28
Plus one-off £49.95 connection fee (waived if I order online before the end of tomorrow, 31st October)
Plus one-off £75 discount if I order online before the end of tomorrow, 31st October
Best price: £24.58 IF I don't spend any money on calls (ie no daytime calls in the week, and no calls to non-geographical numbers)
(Best price calculated over 24 months by averaging out the different monthly prices for the first 6 months and the second 6 months, and taking the line rental saver for the first year, and averaging out the one-off discounts)
Benefits of switching for me - a TiVo box so I can record TV and watch Catch-Up services on my television, HD channels, faster broadband (I currently get around 6300kbps with Plusnet on 21CN ADSL2, and the buffering part-way through on streaming video (and sometimes streaming audio) is annoying).
Possible downside - poor customer service from Virgin Media.
What do you think?  Would you make the switch?
8 REPLIES
alanf
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 77
Fixes: 1
Registered: 17-10-2007

Re: Contemplating a switch to Virgin Media - advice please

Is there not a broadband cessation cost? If I recall correctly whilst there is no charge for switching from one BT Wholesale service provider to another there is one to cease the service. Perhaps also additional cost if you change your mind later and wish to return. I'd also check for any cost ceasing the BT Wholesale phone line.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,375
Thanks: 632
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Contemplating a switch to Virgin Media - advice please

Last I heard was speeds on Virgin Media ADSL (not cable) were pretty lousy at peak times!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16,555
Thanks: 1,800
Fixes: 125
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Contemplating a switch to Virgin Media - advice please

Quote from: snozboz
(I currently get around 6300kbps with Plusnet on 21CN ADSL2, and the buffering part-way through on streaming video (and sometimes streaming audio) is annoying).

I'm sync at around 5000 and rarely get buffering even when streaming HD content - so could that be an indication of some problem on the line wheich needs to be sorted?

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,307
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Contemplating a switch to Virgin Media - advice please

I was with VM back when they changed from NTL, if things go wrong and you have a dispute with them (as I did about over-charging) then they're absolutely terrible to deal with (they certainly were for me).
I'm in a VM cabled area (their cabinet is right next to my house) but I will never use them again.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,249
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 56
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Contemplating a switch to Virgin Media - advice please

To mention for those who haven't realised - the Virgin Media "Classic Collection" is only available on cable
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Contemplating a switch to Virgin Media - advice please

What do you use your connection for? if gaming forget it, do a quick google and you will get your answer.  VM has hidden traffic management that affects gamers directly, e.g.being unable to connect and or heavy packet loss at peek times as gaming traffic gets shoved to the lowest priority.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
snozboz
Grafter
Posts: 384
Thanks: 2
Registered: 27-07-2007

Re: Contemplating a switch to Virgin Media - advice please

@alanf Broadband cessation cost - oh, yes, forgot about that one!  Sad  That might be the thing that swings it against switching.
@jelv I am on a fully cabled street.
@Mav That's interesting.  But I'm not sure what could be done to investigate this - my speed is within the bounds of "acceptable" by Openreach, and according to the Visual Radius logs I've seen (when I've had problems solved), my connection doesn't drop abnormally often.  So I doubt there's much that can be done...?  My router is in the Master socket, through a micro filter with one phone.  There are no extensions at all and only that one phone.  Any suggestions would be welcome!  Smiley
@Gus I'm not into computer games.  I mainly browse the web, email, and listen and watch streaming video & audio.  I do some downloading of files, music etc, and bits of uploading to create websites.
snozboz
Grafter
Posts: 384
Thanks: 2
Registered: 27-07-2007

Re: Contemplating a switch to Virgin Media - advice please

I posted the same question on the think broadband forums, and got some helpful suggestions.  It looks like Virgin Media don't deal with "over utilisation" fast enough to keep up with customers signing up and increasing their use of the network; and according to the Virgin forums this is currently a problem for people in my bit of the country (though apparently Virgin's Network Engineers are due to sort this out for my area in the coming week or so).  So maybe I shouldn't switch after all...