cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CD ripping

Community Veteran
Fixes: 2

CD ripping

In spite of it being "old tech" I'm quite new to this, and only because my latest car has MP3 input.
However, while attempting to "rip" an old compilation CD called "Leaders of The Pack" which features largely the Phil Spector girl groups of the 60's and 70's; Matha and the Vandellas, The Supremes, The Chiffons and many others, I noticed that in the play list in the ripping software that all 23 track titles were completely different from the titles printed on the disc and those that most of us would recognise.
Not just different but, but bore no resemblance to the song titles whatsoever, I can understand that in some cases song titles were changed by the writers or producers for their own reasons, but all 23...!!
Needless to say the tracks played are those expected.
Is this common?
While on MP3, I can download an MP3 file (from a Google listing), it will appear in my download folder, and apparently transfer to my MP3 player, but it comes with a warning that I will not be able to see the track or play it, which I can confirm is exactly what happens.
How then can I see and play the track?
Experience; is something you gain, just after you needed it most.

When faced with two choices, simply toss a coin. It works not because it settles the question for you. But because in that brief moment while the coin is in the air. You suddenly know what you are hoping for.
12 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Fixes: 12

Re: CD ripping

sounds like your ripping software simply mis-matched the CD and provided the wrong details from the database it uses.
Community Veteran

Uhmm! that sounds plausible, the disc in question is at least 25 if not more years old.

When faced with two choices, simply toss a coin. It works not because it settles the question for you. But because in that brief moment while the coin is in the air. You suddenly know what you are hoping for.