cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Are English teachers sarcastic?

Bob_Milton
Grafter

Are English teachers sarcastic?

I am presently reading a book entitled 'My Trade' by Andrew Marr the BBC journalist.
In it he uses a phrase which took my attention. It was "sarcastic English teachers", meaning teachers who taught English.
My memory stirred to recollect the English master who was very successful in helping us to pass English Language and English Literature in School Certificate.
Now he was very sarcastic, ----- but he was a very good teacher.
Have any of you any recollections and thoughts about your English teaching experiences?
7 REPLIES
Fixes: 104

Re: Are English teachers sarcastic?

I left school with not a clue about English really - my spelling is appalling and any grammer rules I have picked up are all self taught.
As far as I'm concerned my English GCSEs are a complete waste of space.
How I went on to do A-Levels and a degree with not a clue how to structure essays etc is still a mystery to me...
Will Moderate For Thanks
Community Veteran
Fixes: 13

The school I went to was a "Intermediate" School..... which was supposed to be "better than a Secondary Modern"  with better qualified teachers and curriculum, but not quite up to "Grammar School" standard.  Also it was a "Dual School" which meant that there was a central hall for gym and assembly, and the classrooms were on either side (also above and below) One half of the school was Boys only, and the other was Girls only..... The girls had a choice of two other languages (apart from English) which they could learn, but us boys only had English..... During our last term, we had a sort of Question and Answer session, and one of the questions to the English Teacher was 
" Why don`t we get a chance to learn French or German, like the girls do?"
answer
"Because we have a hard enough job teaching you lot English"
I always remember that, perhaps because it was "sarcastic"!  Cheesy