Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Any ideas? - video stream stored in a database

Community Veteran
Fixes: 8

Any ideas? - video stream stored in a database

Hey gang..
Not a thread for most folks but i know we have some talented people here onb the PN forum who know their stuff!
So.. i was looking at saving a video stream from a live device (security camera or webcam that is watching over a car). Now I've had some breif experience with CCTV in the past and remember that they could look back precisely at any date / time of footage in the database.
Now I'm wanting to do something similar but with my own software / features and i'm wondering just how a video stream can be stored like that in a database with precise time / date markers?
One thing I thought of was perhaps every second was stored as its own unique blob and the database pulls out say 60 blobs at a time for the main program to stitch together and play? But then that raises a new question of the blob not containing file / meta data etc?
So.. anyone in the know out there?
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Fixes: 27

Re: Any ideas? - video stream stored in a database

Hi 7up,
What format is the video in? Most of the time I think you'll find that the time stamp data is stored in frames in the video. So what you'd need to do so you could query the database is to extract this information from the stream and use these values to insert the blob. Doing it every second IMHO is pointless, as the granularity is to fine, I'd be inclined to do it maybe on the minute but more likely every 5 minutes.

Community Veteran

Must it be stored in the database? I'd be inclined to store it as files on a shared drive and store the UNC path to the file in the database with the date time indexing information. That way the file/meta data will not be lost.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)