cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Any 02 customers here ?

St3
All Star
Posts: 2,404
Thanks: 389
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Any 02 customers here ?

How fishy is this.. Ive just contacted 02 to ask why my phone data in my area is very poor, before the call i ran 2 speedtests on 2 different phones 1 being an 02  contract phone i own and the 2nd being a tesco mobile phone i also own, both phones bearly picked up any connection. ( tesco mobile bounce of 02 network )

So i reported to 02 my phone could not get a good signal bearing in mind the 02 website states my area can get a good signal at all times in my town.

02 said they would update my 02 phone which i have with them, so i get a small update which updates my settings on my 02 phone, im asked to try the internet now....... i run a speedtest.. at the same time i also run a speedtest on my teaco mobile phone and both phones pickup 6meg down and 5 up. HuhHuhHuhHuh?

But how is this possible Huh i did mention i had a tesco mobile phone too and it also had issues conntecting to the net, but they couldnt discus this as it was with tesco.

So im now thinking they capped the internet in my area after i run before and after speedtests on 2 different phones and 2 slighlty different companies.

But 02 told me the small update was the reason my 02 phone can now get data.......... but what about my tesco mobile phone this did not get any updates. 

I think 02 are capping internet in some area`s and if you dont complain about it nothing will be done, im going to send a complaint in with the speedtests which  thankfully are dated and timed, for 2 years now my internet to 02 has been almost impossible to connect to and most of my friends who also use 02 also complaint about not being able to connect, wait till they hear about this.......... shocking.

Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970
12 REPLIES
PowerLee
Rising Star
Posts: 543
Thanks: 12
Registered: 12-03-2013

Re: Any 02 customers here ?

The O2 network infrastructure is heavily oversubscribed, Telefonica are deep in debt so let any MVNO pay to use there network increasing congestion.
Data across the network is prioritised, O2 contract customers are top of list, O2 PAYG & Tesco customers are in the middle.
Gift Gaff customer are bottom of the pile.
Telefonica where hoping to offload O2 UK to Three so they could pay down the Spanish debt, unfortunately for Telefonica the EU stepped in & blocked the deal.
Now Telefonica is in a difficult situation, they have to keep paying out £ to upgrade there UK network but at the same time need to sell O2 UK so they can pay down the debt in Spain.
One of the reasons O2 has so many gimmicks like Priority & Refresh, to try & attract even more customers.


Community Veteran
Posts: 4,596
Thanks: 751
Fixes: 3
Registered: 06-11-2014

Re: Any 02 customers here ?

I have a GiffGaff SIM in a chinese 'droid (Cubot Z100), but, I don't use their data service as previously I found it to be lacking compared to Three, but, the Cubot is a dual-SIM phone so I got a "FreedomPOP" SIM in there that gives me 200MB/month free data (Via the Three network), so, no need to worry about the bogged-down O2 networks... Smiley

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,323
Thanks: 1,154
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Any 02 customers here ?

Yes Ste i am with O2 and their signal is flaky for me Shocked they did some checks and said they boosted signal at my nearest mast , its better ouside but [-Censored-] inside Sad

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,404
Thanks: 389
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Any 02 customers here ?

hey so yesterday evening/night my 02 data signal was great after contacting them, ive just run 3 speedtests and im back to square one..... 0.2 up and 0.8 down Crazy2Knuppel shocking that they were able to give me a great connection for one night then back to normal next day. I also asked for the chat to be e-mailed to me but it never come.... dirty scumbags

Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970
Community Veteran
Posts: 13,921
Thanks: 514
Fixes: 7
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Any 02 customers here ?

We're both with tesco and have no problems at all. In fact in our place I could barely get a Three connection when I tried so who knows what's going on.
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,404
Thanks: 389
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Any 02 customers here ?

once my contract runs out with 02 and tesco then im moving signal around here is pish, today speedtest on my mobile data shows 0.8 up and 5meg down HuhHuh? its like this most days its terrible.

Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970
Community Veteran
Posts: 13,921
Thanks: 514
Fixes: 7
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Any 02 customers here ?

Don't want to make you jealous but I just got 13mb down and up on tesco.

I reckon it's your area - maybe not signal wise but the number of people using it.
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,404
Thanks: 389
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Any 02 customers here ?

more than likely looking that way, just very strange how when i spoke to someone at 02 it seamed to jump from nothing to 6meg down and 6 up after they told me to restart the phone. Then for the rest of the night it work fine, next morning dead again. Pointless contacting them again its just a waste of time, all these companys are fine until they get huge then they dont seam to give a toss.

Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,596
Thanks: 751
Fixes: 3
Registered: 06-11-2014

Re: Any 02 customers here ?


7up wrote:
Don't want to make you jealous but I just got 13mb down and up on tesco.

 

[Smug Mode: Enable]

I do want to cause jealousy, 60.40Mbps down, 23.46Mbps up, indoors, on Three, makes you wonder why FTTC is so slow... Funny

St3
All Star
Posts: 2,404
Thanks: 389
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Any 02 customers here ?

wow are you paying more for that ? Can i get that for a tenner a month Tongue

Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,596
Thanks: 751
Fixes: 3
Registered: 06-11-2014

Re: Any 02 customers here ?


St3 wrote:

Can i get that for a tenner a month Tongue


 

4G on Three is there by default (as long as you have a decent signal and your local towers are 4G capable), as for a tenner a month, no, but for £11 a month you can get 2GB data, 200 minutes, as many texts as you like and their "feel at home" international services... Smiley

 

http://www.three.co.uk/Store/SIM/Plans_for_phones

 

No affiliation, just a happy customer... Grin

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Any 02 customers here ?

just for 43.55Mbps down and 6.32Mbps up here on Three 4G in Glasgow (East End).