cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Analogue switch off Television

Highlighted
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-10-2007

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

Quote from: axisofevil
- and the History channel in the daytime on digital.

It's UKTV History (Sky 537). History Channel is something different (Sky 529/530 ).
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 1,619
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎26-07-2007

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

Quote
It's UKTV History

Soon to be renamed "Yesterday".  See here.
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

Discovery is doing some form of link up with Channel 4 and is due to start freeview terrestrial broadcast soon, bit of a miss namer freeview as some channels are paid ones, i.e. most of the @UKTV ones
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 1,619
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎26-07-2007

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

Quote
miss namer freeview as some channels are paid ones, i.e. most of the @UKTV ones

They're not on "Freeview" but on "Top Up TV."
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 4,498
Thanks: 46
Registered: ‎13-04-2007

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

Quote from: Strat
I'll have to ask one of the senior members of the community if the first TVs came without an analogue tuner and this was a bolt on extra. I'm not old enough to remember that time Smiley Undecided
I started work in drawing office of Ultra Electric in Jan 1952. TV sets were built like tanks and, of course, had valves. Everything was hand wired in those days as there were no printed circuits. Dread to think how large a set top box would have been.
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

Quote from: Paul03
Quote
miss namer freeview as some channels are paid ones, i.e. most of the @UKTV ones

They're not on "Freeview" but on "Top Up TV."

if you do a channel scan on your free view tuner you get the lot, on the three different tuners and on my TV guide, there is no indication that they are top up TV, its only when you try to access them that you find out
I normally then go thru the list manually and delete them.  also the channel Nos are intermingled with the free channels
Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,265
Thanks: 965
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

I have 3 digital receivers (2 set top boxes and 1 freeview tele).  On 2 of them they are identified as Top Up TV, and on the 3rd (which is a fair bit older) it doesn't list them at all.
Phil
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

Top up TV is a different system, but Gold (17) UK TV syle(26) Setanta sport (34) topup (38-41) x(97) all need a card slot and are intermingled with the normal list
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

Strictly speaking they are NOT on a separate system, they are on the same MUXes as everything else - and use the same technical standard.
They are merely encrypted .and need a card rather like a Sky one
But I agree it is annoying that many TV/set top boxes mix them in with everything else
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 4,498
Thanks: 46
Registered: ‎13-04-2007

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

Top Up TV is a pain in the proverbial - obviously Thompson had/have a deal with them as their adverts keep appearing on screen even though all their channels are deselected.
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 989
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

What is annoying is that here we can't get all the Mux channels so there are some TV and radio channels we can't get - including some we would like to get. However on the MUX channels we can get are the Top Up TV channels which we are not interested in - if they were not there perhaps we would be able to get more of the ones we do want.
Edit: In case you're wondering we can't get MUX C or MUX D - list of channels on each MUX is here
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

Quote from: jelv
What is annoying is that here we can't get all the Mux channels so there are some TV and radio channels we can't get -

Some muxes are at lower power levels
so maybe an new good quality high gain antenna and low loss feeder cable might help ?
If your not interested in keeping analogue - a narrow band antenna for the digital channels rather than a wide band one.
what transmitter site do you get your signal ?
[Edit] Site with benchmarked antenna's here
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 989
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

Midhurst
Edit: We needed a mast head amplifier for analogue!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 20,030
Thanks: 2,724
Fixes: 40
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Analaogue switch off Television

Quote

If your not interested in keeping analogue

Even if you were interested in keeping analogue..... there won`t be any to keep, once it is switched off ! Roll_eyes
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

Re: Analaogue switch off Television


That's odd Midhurst mux C is lower power - but Mux D is same as the rest..
And Midhust switches in 2012 - so you can still get analogue until then.