cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I being upgraded by stealth?

Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 474
Thanks: 123
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Am I being upgraded by stealth?

I have fibre to the green streetbox. 

The streetbox is around 150 metres away.

Over the last few days, Engineers and Openreach have been spraying white crosses, arrows and the letters O and R on the pavements in some form of  masonic symbol ritual, then lifting Post Office lids and pulling cables along the pavements all around and running them up the wooden telegraph poles, to a new big blackbox on top, including the one directly over the road, which is connected to my phoneline.

Is this a general area infrastructure upgrade and will I notice any change?

 

53 REPLIES 53
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,701
Thanks: 875
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

@Leapy No idea, but if you go to the Roadworks site, you might get an inkling from its local map. It will show any telephone work that has been planned,

Edit

Click on any relevant phone icon: it will expand to give more detail.

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Highlighted
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,367
Thanks: 3,704
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-11-2014

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

@Leapy 

Does this help? Roll_eyes

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,593
Thanks: 2,464
Fixes: 35
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

On the other hand.... you could go up to the workers... and say....

 

`ello `ello ... what`s going on ere then, guv ?   and see if it rings any bells !..

 

( Geddit  ?  `ello  `ello.   .. rings bells  ! ! ! ) ... Cheesy

Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 474
Thanks: 123
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

The Roadworks site says "Description: SUB DUCT AND CABLING. TO ROD ROPE AND TEST, AND INSTALL APPROX 300M OF SUB DUCT AND CABLE AND ANY ASSOCIATED BLOCKAGES IN EXISTING IN FW/CW/VERGE - SPINE ROUTE TO EXCHANGE"

Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 474
Thanks: 123
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

Bernard Cribbins Hole In The Ground!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yShvgXZQBTs

Highlighted
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 918
Thanks: 322
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-10-2015

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

There you go....simples
Ever helpful. Grin Sure, I’d love to help you out. Now which way did you come in?
Highlighted
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,187
Thanks: 270
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

@Leapy 

Any chance they're installing FTTP? - It you're served by overhead phone wires then the fibre Distribution Point is hung from the pole.

 

Brian

Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,701
Thanks: 875
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

I am posting that wording elsewhere for an explanation.

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 474
Thanks: 123
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

FTTP would be great but I'm sure there would be an extra cost.

Highlighted
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,367
Thanks: 3,704
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-11-2014

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

I'm on FTTP/FTTH and as far as I'm aware it is not costing me more than if it was FTTC... but I could be wrong as I often am on matters technical. Roll_eyes

Oh yeah, we are paying £18.99 a month, broadband only, no telephone line charge and phone using VoIP. 

Highlighted
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 1,802
Thanks: 431
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎15-11-2012

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?


@Leapy wrote:

I

Is this a general area infrastructure upgrade and will I notice any change?

 


 

Without pictures, or a better description of what's been installed up the pole it's difficult to say.

 

 

Is there any black tubing with a yellow stripe running up the pole to the new black box for example? That's fibre sub duct and would indicate FTTP

 

 


@Leapy wrote:

FTTP would be great but I'm sure there would be an extra cost.


 

 

If it is FTTP you wouldn't be upgraded by stealth or automatically benefit from it. Plus there's the issue that Plusnet ended their FTTP trial (existing trialists excepted) and still don't offer it as commercial product so you'd have to move ISPs to take advantage anyway.
Highlighted
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,187
Thanks: 270
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

@Leapy 

If you can post a picture of the box on the pole we might be able to identify what it is. Also, put your phone number in the following and see what it says.

https://www.homeandbusiness.openreach.co.uk/fibre-broadband/when-can-i-get-fibre?utm_source=Openreac...

 

I'm on a FTTP connection with PlusNet which costs no more than FTTC. Unfortunately for others it is a Trial which is no longer available. PlusNet currently do not offer a FTTP commercial service.

 

Brian

 

 

Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 474
Thanks: 123
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

@bmc  Thanks Smiley My line is  FTTC  This is a photo of the box on the post and it looks a bit messy (but I'm no expert in messyness) Wink

post.jpg

Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 474
Thanks: 123
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

@DaveyH Thanks a photo of the top sent the cable going up looks like this wire.jpg