Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I being upgraded by stealth?

DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 10

Re: Am I being upgraded by stealth?

That's copper, so it looks like they were just replacing aged infrastructure rather than deploying FTTP

2u2me
Pro
Fixes: 2

@Leapy wrote:

@bmc  Thanks Smiley My line is  FTTC  This is a photo of the box on the post and it looks a bit messy (but I'm no expert in messyness) Wink

post.jpg

No, that`s looks tidy, but it look`s like the engineer must have been in a rush as a pulley has been left up there Smiley

bmc
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 8

@Leapy 

My previous post was slightly mis-leading. Although PlusNet do charge the same for those on the FTTP Trial if a service became available you'd currently have to move ISP - and they do charge more than PlusNet. However, in most cases it appears they, like PlusNet, charge the same whether you're on FTTC or FTTP - unless you go for the Superfast options.

BT and Zen Internet are the best known providers doing FTTP but several smaller companies also offer a service. I saw a new one (to me) just the other day.

https://www.aquiss.net/unlimited-fttp-fibre-broadband/

The following two links are to articles on OpenReach FTTP. the first shows a picture of underground DP's. Those on poles are similar.

https://blog.thinkbroadband.com/2016/06/a-peek-at-the-future-world-of-openreach-fttp/

https://blog.thinkbroadband.com/2015/09/g-fast-and-fod2-a-peek-at-the-openreach-hardware/

Brian

idonno
Pro
Fixes: 1