Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

48 Million affected in one power cut!

Anonymous
Not applicable

48 Million affected in one power cut!

This story is on the BBC new site

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-48652686

And with Argentina going to the Polls today, is it just circumstance or is this state intervention?

10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: 48 Million affected in one power cut!

That's very interesting  

When I was working in the Electricity Supply Industry before I retired  I used to go to meetings about the strategy for a Black Start very interesting and something quite a few people have never thought about.

Lets hope they have something in place ready for a Black Start.

Brian A

Anonymous
Not applicable

Yep there'll be a huge demand put on the grid when the power's resumed.

idonno
Aspiring Champion
Fixes: 6

@Anonymous  Too right. I worked in the electricity industry and have never forgotten the morning after a certain M Fish said there wasn't a hurricane a coming. It was total chaos. No power, trees down. Not just for a day or two. Some were off weeks.

Hope someone has thought about how much we all rely on electricity now. Electronic payments just being one. No power, no terminals Smiley Does that mean free hand outs? Problem I've found over the years is disaster management tends to be locked away...... And usually, joe public is frequently totally unaware of it.

Ever helpful. Grin Sure, I’d love to help you out. Now which way did you come in?
TTman
Seasoned Champion
Fixes: 1

@idonno  And busineses are trying to do away with cash!!Crazy3

Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes I remember it well October 1987 before the Regional Electricity Boards were privatised

Teams were sent to the worse affected areas to assist and were made very welcome I was involved in it