cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,849
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

Need to connect my TT Youview box to broadband.
I found a RJ11 10m for £2.20 off Amazon.
Or I can get a flat ethernet cable for £4.79. 
Flat is preferred so I can't easily trip over.
Shall I get ethernet or RJ11?
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
15 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,255
Thanks: 905
Fixes: 105
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

Perhaps you could ask on TT or your ISP forums, they might be able to advise you better as it's their products.
Will Moderate For Thanks
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

As it's Christmas...
You need an ethernet cable.  RJ11 cables are used for telephony, an ethernet cable uses RJ45 connectors.
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,849
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

Okay i'll get an ethernet cable.
This is not at home, in my cottage in Northumberland. 
We have got TalkTalk installed and get a shocking 15meg dl speed.  With simplybroadband. 
This cottage will be rented by other people as its a rental property owned by me and the family.
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Devonian
Grafter
Posts: 1,854
Registered: 01-05-2011

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

So, you post on the Plusnet forum, you say your isp is BT (spit), and you are trying to connect a talktalk (vomit) youview box to the internet?
Wow sounds perfect to me.  Cheesy Cheesy
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,849
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

At least TalkTalk actually provide a better speed than I had with PN.  Why would I get PN if I don't actually live in the cottage full time and TT is cheaper.
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,379
Thanks: 634
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

Your choice of provider is not being questioned.
Your continual posting on the Plusnet forums requesting advice regarding your non-Plusnet connections is what people are concerned about.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,849
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

I find I get a better response from community members on Plusnet forums, than BT and TT forums.
This forum feels local and friendly so thats why I prefer to post here.
I can't see how this is affecting other people.  It's just a person asking for advice, nothing wrong with that is there?  Roll eyes
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,789
Thanks: 1,134
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

When resources are limited........ Lips are sealed
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
RichAllen
Grafter
Posts: 805
Registered: 14-09-2013

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

Someone once told me the TT forum is full of idiots.
Community Veteran
Posts: 13,929
Thanks: 515
Fixes: 8
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

Quote from: Devonian
So, you post on the Plusnet forum, you say your isp is BT (spit), and you are trying to connect a talktalk (vomit) youview box to the internet?
Wow sounds perfect to me.  Cheesy Cheesy

+1 lol
Quote from: RichAllen
Someone once told me the TT forum is full of idiots.

You're so opinionated..
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

Quote from: RichAllen
Someone once told me the TT forum is full of idiots.

Unless it's changed radically since I was last there (admittedly a year or so now) it was seriously lacking in constructive help from the ISP itself and more time was spent hiding (even banning) problems than solving them.
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,849
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

Thats why I don't post on there.
Last time I started a post, I never got a straight answer
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

Back on subject, I doubt the overall area / diameter of a round RJ45 CAT5e cable is going to be significantly bigger than that of a flat ethernet cable - both should be just as easy to hide at the edge of skirting or tacked on the skirting board. I've run it previously between the carpet gripper and the skirting without a problem.
And yes, don't go for RJ11 cable - it tends to be straight wired rather than twisted pair and certainly won't conform to CAT5 standards your Youview box should need for an ethernet connection.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: 10m ethernet cable or RJ11?

Quote from: NorthEasterner
Need to connect my TT Youview box to broadband.
Presumably, though you haven't said so explicitly, this is an Ethernet connection from the box to a router?
If you're up to terminating cables yourself and want something relatively unobtrusive, consider CW1308 4-core phone cable. This will run at up to 100mbps so is more than adequate.