cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

will ping go up if i switch from pro to premium?

max99
Grafter

will ping go up if i switch from pro to premium?

hi guys, i'm a new pro user and so far (few days in) finding the online gaming side of things great Smiley 
however, i like to use the xbox movie streaming allot (and bbc iplayer) and noticing my download allowance of 20G will probably not cut it. Sad
my question is:  can i switch to premium and keep the fastpath settings for low ping, and more generally will my online gaming suffer on premium?
thanks in advance Smiley
5 REPLIES 5
dvorak
Fixes: 1,483

Re: will ping go up if i switch from pro to premium?

Your ping and gaming shouldn't be affected... however your xbox streaming might be affected. ASBO would be able to tell you a bit better...
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
scootie
Grafter

it was the inside xbox vids ive been wiresharking and they came back as 0x80 gold the other day when bob asked me to check so all groove  Cheesy .
all xbox traffic uses port 3074 which makes it easy for all the games to be picked up by the traffic mangment. the reason the inside xbox vids where picked up wrong is due to the source ip's being limelight (CDN) which microsoft uses to serve its content
however i dont use skyplayer or zune so cant give you a 100% answer. but skyplayer has been up fo awhile and no compliants of issues that ive seen and also the same for zune all be it not live as long.
you will be fine on preminum, if you do find streaming and gaming traffic that isnt picked up right its only a wireshark away to getting sorted  Wink thoe it does take around a week for the new sig to be put  live from PN getting your wireshark.