Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

connecting ps3 using new Thompson TG585 router

snobdr
Dabbler

connecting ps3 using new Thompson TG585 router

Can anyone help please
i am a complete noob and cannot get my PS3 connected to the internet.
I have tried all the "easy" and automatic options for the settings and still no luck  Sad
5 REPLIES 5
timlake
Grafter

Re: connecting ps3 using new Thompson TG585 router

Are you using wireless or wired connection?
dvorak
Fixes: 1,483

Try putting your PS3 in the routers DMZ if that is possible.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
MuppetGrinder
Grafter

I had issues with this as well, I had to fix it by manualy setting it's network details.
The problem I kept getting was DNS errors, It seems that the router and the PS3 couldn't communicate the global DNS address information using the DHCP for some reason (perhaps worth a review by some techie at the PN Towers?).  Here's how I fixed it.
Use the advanced setup on the PS3 Network Settings and assign the following :-
IP address : pick somthing in the same scope as the router, default is 192.168.1.xxx (pick a number between 2 and 254 for the xxx part, I recomand somthing higher than 10 if you have other devices connected)
Subnet Mask : 255.255.255.0
Gateway : the IP address of the Router, default is 192.168.1.1
Primary/Preffered DNS is 212.159.6.9
Secondary/Alternate DNS is 212.159.6.10
The DNS details are for Plusnet, I don't know about force9 or the other one, but I'm sure someone on here can give you them if you need them.
Hope this helps
Ianwild
Grafter

The DNS would be the same on f9, and that should fix it anyway, but this is certainly odd sounding.
Was that with the 585V7 too MuppetGrinder?
Ian
MuppetGrinder
Grafter