cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless Router

freefall
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 08-07-2008

Wireless Router

So i'm thinking about getting a new wireless router, but this time i'm making sure it's compatible with Xbox =D.
Just wondering what you guys use and are they any good?
Also i don't want one too expensive, as i don't get paid until the end of the month.
Thanks
FreeFall
4 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,624
Thanks: 610
Fixes: 158
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Wireless Router

Hi again Smiley
Personally I use a speedtouch 585v6 but I have my XBOX wired in. We did have a PS3 wireless on it without any problems. There are occasionally some good deals on wireless routers here so may be worth keeping an eye on.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
johnjarram
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 25-05-2008

Re: Wireless Router

i use netgear DG834G never had any problems and never had to use port forwarding with it either
i can stream music from my pc to my xbox and play games on xbox live at the same time
freefall
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 08-07-2008

Re: Wireless Router

I was thinking about the Linksys WRT55AG because instead of just having the g and b channel it has the a one as well. I think from my understanding that i will get better connectivity when i go wireless on the Xbox (£50 that i dont want to spend on the adapter  Cry )
Has anyone heard of this one and is it any good?
iainmacmillan
Grafter
Posts: 105
Registered: 09-08-2007

Re: Wireless Router

personally, i would use a Netgear unit, either the DG834G or GT if you want a cheaper option, or the best is the DG834PN, which is what i have now, with the 6 internal aerials, and VPN pass-thru for work.  Should be able to pick that up for £65-75
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Netgear-DG834PN-RangeMax-MIMO-G-Wireless/dp/B000BRYOQ8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=...
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/(1187CoolNetgear-Rangemax-DG834PN-MIMOADSL-Router-Firewall.aspx
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=3VZ5&CategorySelectedId=11177&PageMode=1&NavigationKe...
most games work fine without changing the config, but i do tweak the router, and add all my game & application ports on for the different programs i use.  I also have the latest firmware to make it ADSL2 compliant, though my exchange's 21CN upgrade is not due until 2011....Sad