Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Usage Summary - Gaming - New User Question

shazwildcat
Dabbler

Usage Summary - Gaming - New User Question

Hi,
I'm new to Plusnet as of last Friday (29/5/2009) and as an avid pc gamer I am slightly anal about my broadband speed etc.
I joined Plusnet because of the positive filtering of gaming traffic so obviously I am a little concerned that there is no gaming traffic showing on my Usage Summary even though I have spent a good few hours on COD4 over the weekend.
So is there a delay on these stats, or is not picking up my gaming? And if its not picking it up on the stats is it being missed on the packet filtering?
Not too bothered about speed at the moment as I know it will be about 10 days before my line stabilises - although I have already noticed an improvement over my old Orange connection Smiley
Just want to be sure I'm going to get the full benefit of Plusnets higher price...I'm on Plusnet Pro btw
thanks for any advice
10 REPLIES 10
James
Grafter

Re: Usage Summary - Gaming - New User Question

Hi and welcome Smiley
I've had a quick look at your traffic and like you say, VMBU (View My Broadband Usage) doesn't appear to be picking up your gaming traffic.  I wouldn't worry about that too much though as because you're on Pro, all of your traffic is being prioritised.
There's a possibility that the traffic will catch up (although I wouldn't expect it to), but just keep an eye on things and see if any of it shows up.
shazwildcat
Dabbler

thanks James  Smiley
scootie
Grafter

you can use wireshark to tell what prioity any traffic is getting over the PN network.
http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/troubleshooting/wireshark.shtml
its little more tricky to be able to capture console traffic but can still be done by wiring a console up to a pc to use it internet connection and capture the traffic as it passes through the pc.