cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Technicolor TG582n – Any tips to achieve low latency (lag)?

mcaldo
Dabbler

Technicolor TG582n – Any tips to achieve low latency (lag)?

Apologies if this perhaps is not the right section of the forum.
I am not a gamer, in reality.
I am a musician, and I use an application called Jacktrip, a client/server solution which passes through  port 4464 as default, and allows to stream audio bidirectionally.
Basically, it allows to play music with somebody else online.
Of course, to play together latency must be very low, under 30ms for sure, but ideally 10/15ms.
Given gamers need low latency too when playing online, I figured out that perhaps somebody could  give me some tips about network settings.
I am forwarding the port (UDP, as that' what we use) on the modem and I connect directly to it with a LAN cable. My latency at the moment is very bad, I use a linux distro pre-optimized for  low latency, so the problem shouldn't be a software one.
Do the options “Use Extended Security” and “Use UpnP” affect latency?
Does plus net apply any traffic shaping?
Any other tips?
Thanks!
10 REPLIES 10
ejs
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 25

Re: Technicolor TG582n – Any tips to achieve low latency (lag)?

I don't think the UPnP settings will affect latency, they only affect how programs are able to automatically open ports they need.
I suppose you could try disabling the power saving options as described here: http://npr.me.uk/telnet.html#cpu - however I expect any differences in performance would be very small. Also, turning off all the power saving features might make it run hotter when idle.
On current tariffs, Plusnet apply traffic prioritisation, this should only make a difference if there are other activities using your Internet connection at the same time as you're playing music.