cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

smiles1984
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 08-11-2011

Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

As in a previous post ps3 nat type help
I have tried everything from telnet, port forwarding, router configuration and firewall to name just a few!!
None worked!! What does work though is=
If you previously had modern warfare 2 and your nat settings were open then follow these steps.
Sign into modern warfare 2 and load a game online.
Wait for the game to start once the game commences quit the whole game and load modern warfare 3 and when you sign in it should say nat type open.
This worked first time for me the only downside is you will have to do this everytime!!
A small price to pay but it worked and no more trawling forums!! Now i can concentrate on getting killed all day
dick:red All caps edited as per forum rules.
5 REPLIES
mattturner
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 1
Registered: 25-06-2009

Re: Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

Hi Smiles,
Can you confirm for me that the steps here didn't work?
http://community.plus.net/library/uncategorized/increasing-gaming-compatability-with-the-thomson-tg5...
If not then we'll investigate a bit more and try and find out why these steps failed.
Thanks,
Matt Turner
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,681
Thanks: 1,079
Fixes: 46
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

MW3 started up first time with Open NAT and each subsequent time and all I have is uPNP enabled on both PS3 and PC.
I noticed an extra port opened when I played MW3 online, 3074UDP.
What you describe I used to do with Black Ops but MW3 and BF3 have been fine.
My router is in my sig below.
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
smiles1984
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 08-11-2011

Re: Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

yeah matt it never worked for some reason?
i have it on open nat through mw2 but it is still innconveniant
any assistance would be appreciated
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

Did you save all at the end? It worked for this poster here
Mitas
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 30-11-2009

Re: Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

Thanks Guys,
This worked for me on the PC version with a v7 router.
Don't suppose you know a fix for the UPnP issue with BF3, other than disabling it? Really grates on me when I decide to have a blast on BF3 after MW3, but forget to disable UPnP.