cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

smiles1984
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

As in a previous post ps3 nat type help
I have tried everything from telnet, port forwarding, router configuration and firewall to name just a few!!
None worked!! What does work though is=
If you previously had modern warfare 2 and your nat settings were open then follow these steps.
Sign into modern warfare 2 and load a game online.
Wait for the game to start once the game commences quit the whole game and load modern warfare 3 and when you sign in it should say nat type open.
This worked first time for me the only downside is you will have to do this everytime!!
A small price to pay but it worked and no more trawling forums!! Now i can concentrate on getting killed all day
dick:red All caps edited as per forum rules.
5 REPLIES
mattturner
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-06-2009

Re: Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

Hi Smiles,
Can you confirm for me that the steps here didn't work?
http://community.plus.net/library/uncategorized/increasing-gaming-compatability-with-the-thomson-tg5...
If not then we'll investigate a bit more and try and find out why these steps failed.
Thanks,
Matt Turner
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,327
Thanks: 1,890
Fixes: 173
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

MW3 started up first time with Open NAT and each subsequent time and all I have is uPNP enabled on both PS3 and PC.
I noticed an extra port opened when I played MW3 online, 3074UDP.
What you describe I used to do with Black Ops but MW3 and BF3 have been fine.
My router is in my sig below.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 63.0.3 (64-bit)

smiles1984
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

yeah matt it never worked for some reason?
i have it on open nat through mw2 but it is still innconveniant
any assistance would be appreciated
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

Did you save all at the end? It worked for this poster here
Mitas
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎30-11-2009

Re: Simple Strict NAT Type Cure !!!

Thanks Guys,
This worked for me on the PC version with a v7 router.
Don't suppose you know a fix for the UPnP issue with BF3, other than disabling it? Really grates on me when I decide to have a blast on BF3 after MW3, but forget to disable UPnP.