Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Port Blocking

Mangoletsi
Grafter

Port Blocking

Hello,
I've come to share my experience so far of gaming online using Plusnet.
When I joined 3 months ago, I found that I was no longer able to game online as the ports seemed to be blocked. I have been gaming online for 11 years and I know how to open my ports and forward them as I have had the same router the past 3 years and had no issues with other ISP's.
I found out that Plusnet automatically block ports using a McAfee firewall in which according to the member centre area you can turn off.
1. I turned it off in the member centre, but ports still blocked.
2. I removed the whole McAffee product in my member centre, but ports still blocked.
Support, didnt really know why it was still blocked and said it was my fault at my end and said to use DMZ aswell which I tried and found plusnet were still blocking my ports.
3 months later, I had already given up when a friend told me he can now see me online. After many tests over the past few days, I can now say it's 100% Plusnet's fault. There is something wrong with there firewall software control. The IP address is allocated dynamically which means every time you disconnect and reconnect, you receive a different IP address. Here are my results from multiple tests I've done.

When I've been connected to an IP range beginning with 2X.XXX.XXX.XXX, the downspeed is full speed, but the inbound ports are blocked.
When I've been connected to an IP range beginning with 4X.XXX.XXX.XXX, the downspeed is 0.6Mb slower, ping times are 16 milli seconds slower, but the inbound ports are open so you can game online.

So all you can do is disconnect and reconnect until you are assigned an IP address beginning with a 4X.XXX.XXX.XXX
Hope this helps others.
8 REPLIES 8
mwerle
Grafter

Re: Port Blocking

Or you could just ask for a static IP...?
Cheers,
- Micha.
Mangoletsi
Grafter