cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

FRPrice
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎21-11-2017

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

@bobpullen - Thanks for that, it is now working but I don't really know what finally did it! I opened all the ports required and then altered the firewall settings. All good now - thanks for your help.

FRPrice
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎21-11-2017

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

@Solmark - thanks for the tip, it is now working.

SomersetPeter
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-12-2017

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

Hi, Xbox360 X box live access problems, Plusnet Home Hub

 

I can't access Xbox Live after resetting the family password, it won't log in. I can log in on the PC, The internet connection tests seem fine 

Having  spoken to Microsoft, they mentioned Port forwarding so I contacted Plusnet.

 

I have gone through the above, however there is a conflict and it asks me to remove a device.

 

I have under "Game or Application"

Xbox Live

Xbconnect

 

XboxLive 1 (which is the one I created from the above instructions)

 

Any ideas gratefully received.

 

Kind regards

 

Peter

lindahoskin47
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎22-12-2016

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

I'm at my wit's end.

I've had ports forwarded for years with no problem. Then sometime in the last month it's just stopped working for no reason that I can see. I've done everything suggested here and elsewhere. I've disabled firewalls, factory reset at least five separate times, used my computer IP in the port forwarding box, and even formatted my entire PC thinking it was a setting on my system.

NOTHING HAS WORKED.

The router makes the connection, then instantly disconnects. Ad nauseum. I've spoken to two different reps who say they aren't trained on port forwarding and that Plusnet "doesn't support" it. It's *expletive* ridiculous. Why did it work for so many years without issue, then?!

13:13:50, 28 Jun.	IN: ACCEPT [57] Connection closed (Port Forwarding: UDP [192.168.1.64]:6000 <-​-​> [46.208.160.48]:6000 -​ -​ -​ [178.120.20.113]:23713 ppp3 NAPT)
13:13:49, 28 Jun.	IN: ACCEPT [57] Connection closed (Port Forwarding: UDP [192.168.1.64]:6000 <-​-​> [46.208.160.48]:6000 -​ -​ -​ [151.231.63.51]:20160 ppp3 NAPT)
13:13:49, 28 Jun.	IN: ACCEPT [57] Connection closed (Port Forwarding: UDP [192.168.1.64]:6000 <-​-​> [46.208.160.48]:6000 -​ -​ -​ [175.195.199.219]:7934 ppp3 NAPT)
13:13:45, 28 Jun.	IN: ACCEPT [57] Connection closed (Port Forwarding: UDP [192.168.1.64]:6000 <-​-​> [46.208.160.48]:6000 -​ -​ -​ [39.37.19.206]:24137 ppp3 NAPT)
13:13:37, 28 Jun.	IN: ACCEPT [57] Connection closed (Port Forwarding: UDP [192.168.1.64]:6000 <-​-​> [46.208.160.48]:6000 -​ -​ -​ [188.191.21.227]:54095 ppp3 NAPT)
13:13:31, 28 Jun.	IN: ACCEPT [57] Connection closed (Port Forwarding: UDP [192.168.1.64]:6000 <-​-​> [46.208.160.48]:6000 -​ -​ -​ [92.37.142.23]:59712 ppp3 NAPT)
13:13:26, 28 Jun.	IN: ACCEPT [54] Connection opened (Port Forwarding: UDP

If nobody can help me with this, I am done.

srangeley
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎17-03-2015

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

Hi,

 

I have been trying to use my work VPN (BT Mobile Xpress) at my parents' house this morning but I have been getting error 12275 - failed to connect to the gateway. It worked the last time I tried it but that's maybe 12 months ago.

 

They have a 2704N. It works OK from my house on a Hub One (fibre).

 

Online chat said they couldn't help and pointed me to this forum post.

 

Is there something I / you need to set please? I haven't previously had to configure anything, it just worked.

 

Thanks in advance

Steven

 

 

Solmark
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎21-07-2017

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

It is baffling to me why PlusNet don't take these customer issues seriously. Maybe we all have the wrong ISP. I will be looking elsewhere when my contract ends

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 965
Thanks: 166
Fixes: 30
Registered: ‎22-01-2018

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

Hello @srangeley

 

Thanks for getting in touch. The error message appears to be specific to your VPN client we would recommend contacting your company's IT help desk.

Having said that while using that connection, have you noticed any drops in connection? or issues with the speed.

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 SammyM
 Plusnet Help Team
srangeley
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎17-03-2015

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

Hi Sammy,

 

Thanks, but as I said "It works OK from my house on a Hub One (fibre)."

Therefore it can't be my work laptop or the VPN client, it MUST be specific to either:

 

1. My parents connection

2. My parents router

 

Also it worked last year and I haven't changed anything since with their router, so please can you check at your end what has changed.

 

Thanks

Steven

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,415
Thanks: 4,498
Fixes: 733
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

Hi Steven.

If you can PM me their username I'll be happy to look into this further.

I've also asked our products team for advice for example why it should work using a Hub One but not the Hub Zero.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
srangeley
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎17-03-2015

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

Hi,

Thanks, I have done that.

Steven
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,415
Thanks: 4,498
Fixes: 733
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

Thanks Steven. I'm not finding any obvious issues.

Mind if I ask the IP/Host Name of the VPN? Also which company is your VPN connecting to?

Finally can you post up a traceroute using your own connection and your parents connection to compare?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
srangeley
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎17-03-2015

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

Thanks for checking.

 

I'm not sure exactly how to find the IP or host name, I just log in using an e-mail address (which isn't actually a real one!) and code which is obviously generated using my token plus my PIN.

 

I'm connecting to the Co-op Bank.

 

Which IP address do you want me to traceroute to?

 

Thanks

Steven

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,415
Thanks: 4,498
Fixes: 733
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

I'm connecting to the Co-op Bank.

Thanks for this. Looks like it may be due to the IP range (146.159.x.x) your parents account are connecting to. I've tried to force their router to connect to a different range now which should resolve this but it's gone back to the same range.

I'm discussing this further with our products guys and I'll post back again shortly.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
srangeley
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎17-03-2015

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

Thanks Anoush.

 

I'll check on my own PC which IP address range I'm using at home, I assume I will see this in my router homepage which I can't access using my work laptop!

 

Incidentally I had the same error trying to log in at home this morning but it worked after I rebooted my hub. It was working OK on Saturday 7th but then I went away on holiday so I turned it off while I was away. Maybe it got a different IP address range assigned when I switched it back on?

 

Thanks

Steven

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,415
Thanks: 4,498
Fixes: 733
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Plusnet Routers and Port Forwarding

I'll check on my own PC which IP address range I'm using at home, I assume I will see this in my router homepage which I can't access using my work laptop!

You were on the 143.159.x.x range until about 9 hours ago, but you're on 51.9.x.x range now.

 

Incidentally I had the same error trying to log in at home this morning but it worked after I rebooted my hub. It was working OK on Saturday 7th but then I went away on holiday so I turned it off while I was away. Maybe it got a different IP address range assigned when I switched it back on?

Looks like it did. Due to the way dynamic IPs are assigned they're very sticky which means you'll likely get the same one, which is happening to your parents connection. Not much we can do to influence that.

I've just discussed with one of my colleagues in our networks team (He roams around here occasionally).

To investigate this further, could you run a traceroute when you're trying to connect to the VPN unsuccessfully? It may also be helpful to see a traceroute when you're not on a VPN, and also when the VPN is working OK.

 

Cheers! 

 

Anoush

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team