cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please Help, New modem worse than old one!

ryanBlackpool
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 08-08-2009

Please Help, New modem worse than old one!

Hello everbody!

Basically i have a problem. Yesterday i bought myself a Netgear DG834 modem. I got this because i now have windows vista, and my old Voyager usb modem does not work with Vista.
Anyway upon installing the new modem, i got myself on the internet and then tried Xbox live, but here is my problem - Its awefully slow!
My old modem was great, really quick on xbox with no problems, but upon my first session with this modem, everything was lagging and it takes forever to connect to a game and servers etc
I have tried fiddling with settings and what not but its still so slow.
Does anyone have any ideas on what i could do?
It would be most appriciated!
Many thanks, Ryan.
6 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,191
Thanks: 883
Fixes: 101
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Please Help, New modem worse than old one!

Hi Ryan,
What model DG834, is it wireless one for example?
First thing I would try is to put your XBOX in the DMZ, that should make sure that all the traffic gets to your XBOX OK.
Well not true, first thing I'd do is put it in the bin and buy a PS3 Lips are sealed
Will Moderate For Thanks
ryanBlackpool
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 08-08-2009

Re: Please Help, New modem worse than old one!

Haha! Trust me, paying £40 a year for XBL is starting to grate!
Anyway i have the Wired Netgear DG834 v4.
As for the DMZ, Do you mean putting in my XBOX' IP address into the DMZ Server?
adie:quote
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,191
Thanks: 883
Fixes: 101
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Please Help, New modem worse than old one!

Yeah, put the XBOX IP address as the DMZ server.
Will Moderate For Thanks
ryanBlackpool
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 08-08-2009

Re: Please Help, New modem worse than old one!

I have done that, but it seems to make no difference, or it doesnt save at all.
The really annoying thing is that my internet (youtube, bbc iplayer etc etc)  works better than on my old modem!!  Cry
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: Please Help, New modem worse than old one!

have you gone into the lan setup of the v4 and told the router to dish the same ip address to the xbox's mac address everytime.
if your xbox is running on the routers dchp then the ip you used in the dmz may not be what your xbox is using now.
i run the dg834g v4 wired to xbox runing on dmz and things run fine apart from the odd bit of lag on the dashboard blade which is mirosoft fault and hopefully gets fixed on the 12th with the update
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,886
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Please Help, New modem worse than old one!

Quote from: adiewoo
Well not true, first thing I'd do is put it in the bin and buy a PS3 Lips are sealed

Don't be mean to the natives Adie.. we can't all have your exacting standards now can we??  Wink